spa help

Old 01-09-19, 09:39 AM
O
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
spa help

Hi there. Newbie here. Glad to have found this forum. I have a 14 yr old Strong spa, a small octagonal shaped one. I recently moved it from one house to another. Not sure that has anything to do with the problem I'm now having with it. Prior to moving it, it was inactive for about a year. Once I had an electrician put in the proper outlet for it I filled it I proceeded to try & get it going. First problem was something fried in the GFI plug, which was original to the spa. It had been tripping off way too easily when it was last in operation anyway. I mean sneezing might cause it to trip, it was bad. So I put a new GFI plug & power cord on. Then I kept getting a flow error code. Checked all the usual things like the filter, obstruction in jets, air pockets, etc. I replaced the pressure switch. Still got a flow error code. Adjusted the switch. No difference. Checked the wiring on the pump & found the terminal plate the wires were attached to was disintegrating & at that point decided the pump, which I had replaced over 10 yrs ago, should be replaced. It was not coming on even though there was power at the terminals. So I reasoned that the motor was probably seized up & was causing the flow error code. Got a new pump & put it in. Still getting a flow error code & the new pump does not come on even though I measure 115 volts at the terminals. So at this point I'm mystified. How is it possible that the pump is getting power but won't run? And, yes, it's designed for a 115V pump, not 230. It's possible something may have been damaged in the control box when the the plug fried but that doesn't explain why the pump won't run. I'd rather not spend $400 on a control box if there's something simple wrong that I'm overlooking. Hoping someone here can shed some light on this.

Old 01-09-19, 10:51 AM
Group Moderator
Received 1,421 Votes on 1,314 Posts
Welcome to the forums.