Circuit breaker issue - please save me

Old 01-17-19, 01:23 AM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Circuit breaker issue - please save me

Newbie here, and I am hoping someone can help or point me in the right direction. I am so confused and frustrated with this issue I am having. This specific task I did is something I have done several times over the years. By no means am I even close to an expert when it comes to electricity/wires/breakers... Anyway I recently moved in to a new place. The hot water in the house started to run out extremely fast and just didn't seem to be performing well. After investigating I saw that it was the original hot water heater and this house was built in 2006 (so approx. 12-13 years old). The anode rod (AKA "sacrificial rod") had never been replaced. The water in this area is not great and fairly hard. So I wanted to do the basic maintenance of replacing the anode rod and both heating elements. I looked up the model number info so I could get OEM replacement parts. The instructions said to turn off the power to the hot water heater. I found the outside breaker box/panel, and it was already properly labeled H/W heater. The breaker is a Cutler-Hammer 2-pole circuit breaker (not sure that matters). Anyway I clicked it over to the "off" position, went back inside and verified with a multi-meter that it was safe to do my work. After draining the H/W heater and swapping out both heating elements, refill the tank, I went back outside and clicked the circuit breaker back to "on"....here is where all the confusion and frustration starts to happen. Almost immediately the breaker clicks back over to "off" position. I try it once more just in case but with the same result. I could only assume I messed something up on one or both of the heating elements, but there are only two wires and two places they go. I read that the wires can go on either screw on the elements. I tried switching just in case, again same results. I wanted to