GFCI Outlet


  #1  
Old 01-29-19, 07:10 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States
Posts: 110
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
GFCI Outlet

Can I install a 15 amp GFCI outlet in the kitchen/bathroom that that does not have a separate ground and be still be protected?
 
  #2  
Old 01-29-19, 07:22 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,580
Received 204 Upvotes on 174 Posts
Yes. GFCI will work without ground.
However, do not forget that this still does not give you ground.
GFCI will not trip until you touch an appliance even if it has fault to ground.
 
  #3  
Old 01-29-19, 08:32 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
If you want even more safety code allows you to run a ground independent of the existing cable either from the panel only under older code or also from the nearest ground under latest code.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: