Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Tips on getting pre-stripped romex through cable clamp on Arlington One Box?

Tips on getting pre-stripped romex through cable clamp on Arlington One Box?

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-11-19, 10:47 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 59
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tips on getting pre-stripped romex through cable clamp on Arlington One Box?

Hey everyone,

When using an Arlington One Box on old work, are there any tricks to easily getting the pre-stripped wires pulled through the circular plastic clamp that pops into the knockout? I always have a heck of a time getting it through so the wire sheathing doesn't catch/snag on the opening where you push it through. Come to think of it, I always have this problem no matter the old-work box, so any tips are appreciated!

Does it help to tape the end of the sheathing down so it's smoother to pull through?
 
  #2  
Old 02-11-19, 11:28 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,511
Received 124 Votes on 98 Posts
I don't strip the jacket off until after the cable is pulled into the box.
 
  #3  
Old 02-11-19, 11:56 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,822
Received 359 Votes on 316 Posts
Ya, I learned along time ago to wait until the cable is in the box before I stripped the wires. If the wires are already stripped you'll have to fight it or tape it up.
 
  #4  
Old 02-11-19, 12:42 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 59
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yeah, when it's new wire, I don't strip the wires in advance. My question is regarding old work, or existing wires that have been stripped and were previously used in another electrical box that I'm replacing.
 
  #5  
Old 02-11-19, 04:12 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,216
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
Spread the grip slightly with a flat blade screwdriver
 
  #6  
Old 02-11-19, 04:58 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,647
Received 48 Votes on 43 Posts
Is there still a rule that you can break out those tabs as long as it is a single box and cable is stapled within 8" of the box?
 
  #7  
Old 02-11-19, 05:17 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,216
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
Single gang new work box tabs are made to be broken out. The cable needs to be secured within 8" .
 
  #8  
Old 02-12-19, 09:46 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 59
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the tips, everyone. Also, do the home improvement stores sell any better cable connectors/clamps that would snap into the One Box?
 
  #9  
Old 02-12-19, 09:56 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,216
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
Any connector should work. The size is standard.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: