Extension Cord Load Capacity

Old 02-20-19, 07:09 PM
D
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Extension Cord Load Capacity

I have some working knowledge of permanent electrical wiring and capacities, but am having trouble understanding something with temporary extension cords though . I see various warnings to not connect extension cords to each other, but what I'm trying to figure out is why. My thinking is that it is more of a generic warning just to ensure that people are not exceeding the capacity of the wire by mixing different gauge extension cords.

If you connect, a 12 gauge extension cord to a 12 gauge extension cord, as an example, is there any reason why the full load capacity of that wire would then be diminished? Is there something in the plugging together of the wires that reduces the overall load capacity? If I were to plug in a splitter/wire tap or a surge protector at the end of a single extension cord and rated at the same max load of that extension cord I wouldn't think that would reduce the capacity of the extension cord (correct me if i'm wrong), but maybe it's the connection plus the added distance that impacts? If so, is there some sort of rule of thumb/calculation to figure out the new capacity of two extension cords connected together?

Old 02-20-19, 07:20 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,910 Upvotes on 1,716 Posts
OSHA has a page that gives a nice answer. (It's on page 2)

The advice to never plug two cords together is general advice due to the fact that this rule makes extension cord safety stupid proof. All sorts of things could go wrong by plugging 2 cords together because not everyone has common sense or knows what "could go wrong". You don't want to exceed 100 ft with an extension cord.