Baseboard Heater MYSA Thermostat compatability


  #1  
Old 03-18-19, 06:37 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Baseboard Heater MYSA Thermostat compatability

I have electric baseboards from the mid-80s. I am looking to buy the MYSA thermostat, and I am checking compatibility. I am pretty sure my current unit is a single pole thermostat, but I am a bit confused by this third wire listed as "common" on the thermostat. Just quick read online its use for smart thermostats to provide constant power, but this by no means is a programmable or smart thermostat...I have attached my system as well as MYSAs install diagram. Its on a double pole 20 amp breaker so I am on the assumption it is 240 V even though I don't see a red wire.... Any guidance will be helpful...

Name:  m1.jpg
Views: 12307
Size:  43.6 KB

Name:  m2.jpg
Views: 1401
Size:  55.3 KB

Name:  m3.jpg
Views: 1668
Size:  84.1 KB

Name:  m4.jpg
Views: 1443
Size:  30.8 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 03-18-19 at 09:20 AM. Reason: resized pictures/labeled one
  #2  
Old 03-18-19, 08:10 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,557
Received 146 Votes on 134 Posts
Hi, that should work fine, their website has a compatibility chart that is quite good.
Geo
 
  #3  
Old 03-18-19, 09:21 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 69,395
Received 2,794 Votes on 2,530 Posts
I labeled your picture for the connections. It appears that thermostat controls two baseboard heaters.
 
  #4  
Old 03-18-19, 10:27 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you! The lady kept saying it was not compatible because it was 4 and not 5 wires but I think she is just reading off a script. You are correct there are two baseboards in the room
 
  #5  
Old 03-18-19, 04:42 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 69,395
Received 2,794 Votes on 2,530 Posts
The wire count is different since you have both heaters arriving there. Connect the wires as I've shown and you will be set. Be sure to mark the L1 black wire so as not to get it confused with the two load black wires.

In your plastic box.... the cable in the upper left corner is the incoming hot line.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: