Direct Burial cable have to be pvc once in building


  #1  
Old 04-04-19, 05:24 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Direct Burial cable have to be pvc once in building

Upgrading to 100 amp service in Garage fed by 200 amp house circuit.I have buried 2 2 2 3 underground 18 inches with pvc 40. I am using direct burial cable.
Once I am in the garage under a roof is pvc required to panel?
Is it required in basement to 200 amp panel?
Can it be run hung correctly without pvc?

Thanks!
KYNETMAN
 
  #2  
Old 04-04-19, 05:52 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,857
Received 216 Likes on 183 Posts
I'm not aware of any direct bury cable that comes in 2-2-2-3. If it is individual conductors without an overall jacket it must be in conduit. Will you please post a picture of the cable or the stamped info written on the cable. If the #2 is aluminum then it's good to 90A. There is direct bury wire that can enter a structure and there is direct bury wire that is not to enter a structure. You need to know which one you have.
 

Last edited by pattenp; 04-04-19 at 06:08 PM.
  #3  
Old 04-04-19, 06:17 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,915
Received 3,161 Likes on 2,840 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I'm not aware of a 2-2-2-3 underground/direct burial cable either.
How-to-insert-pictures.
 
  #4  
Old 04-05-19, 11:57 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2 2 2 4
Are there 90 amp breakers?
Will get back with pic later.
Thank You!
 
  #5  
Old 04-05-19, 12:09 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,857
Received 216 Likes on 183 Posts
Yes there are 90A breakers. If the 2-2-2-4 is URD it has to be terminated outside the structure. If it's Mobile Home Feeder (MHF) or specifically USE-2/RHH/RHW-2 then it can enter the structure. But either type needs to be in conduit where above ground.
 
  #6  
Old 04-05-19, 07:29 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 11,170
Received 166 Likes on 149 Posts
Are there 90 amp breakers?

I have never seen a 90 amp breaker at any home center, but supply houses will have them or can usually get them quickly.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: