What are these receptacle boxes used for?

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-14-19, 04:35 PM
CircuitBreaker's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 749
Received 31 Votes on 30 Posts
Question What are these receptacle boxes used for?

I have a friend (who know I like these kind of things) who was at a job site and these were getting thrown away. Anyway what was the original purpose of these expensive looking things, besides the obvious answer that is to plug things in

Anyway what are those male (Inlet) & female (Outlet) things called.

Thanks
 
Attached Images     
  #2  
Old 05-14-19, 07:44 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,725
Received 297 Votes on 255 Posts
Looks like temporary power possibly for a stage show or carnival.
 
  #3  
Old 05-14-19, 08:37 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,553
Received 92 Votes on 80 Posts
Just googled and it is a modular lighting and power distribution system.
Usually used in warehouses or factory. Quick and easy installation and easier to modify later on.

Sentinel Lighting name is no longer used and taken over by Pac Systems

Modular Wiring Systems, Wiring Enclosures, Lighting Drops - PAC Systems
 
CircuitBreaker voted this post useful.
  #4  
Old 05-15-19, 03:48 AM
CircuitBreaker's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 749
Received 31 Votes on 30 Posts
Thumbs up

Thank You for the link lambition. I searched google with the model/part number but I only got a few hits, but I did not get the manufacturers page like the link you posted
 
  #5  
Old 05-15-19, 07:56 AM
CircuitBreaker's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 749
Received 31 Votes on 30 Posts
Talking

OK I got another one of these cool boxes but the cover plate is secured by a weird screw. Does anyone know what they are called and where I can get a bit?
 
Attached Images  
  #6  
Old 05-15-19, 09:09 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,943
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
It's one of a variety of tamperproof screws. I think that one is called a spanner. I have a kit of a couple dozen tamperproof screw bits of different types I bought for about $20.

For example: https://www.homedepot.com/p/Klein-To...2525/100647923
 
CircuitBreaker voted this post useful.
  #7  
Old 05-15-19, 09:18 AM
CircuitBreaker's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 749
Received 31 Votes on 30 Posts
Thanks that is cool! but not so tamper proof if you can get the bits at a local store
 
  #8  
Old 05-15-19, 11:34 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,943
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
I'm guessing it's how they got that UL stamp -- now it's a "sealed assembly" instead of field wiring. :-)
 
  #9  
Old 05-15-19, 12:38 PM
CircuitBreaker's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 749
Received 31 Votes on 30 Posts
Exclamation

Ah, OK that makes sense I did not even think of that
 
  #10  
Old 05-20-19, 05:30 PM
CircuitBreaker's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 749
Received 31 Votes on 30 Posts
Exclamation

OK I got the box apart. It turns out the same friend who gave these to me had the correct bit for that screw.

Anyway the connector for the green ground wires just came right off, I believe those connectors are supposed to be crimped after the wires are inserted correct? I dealt with similar connectors that I used for car stereo installs and they were always crimped on to secure the wires and you can actually notice where the connector was crimped.

These don't look to different and I see no crimp on the ground wire or any of the other ones that are in the device box for that matter.

I only wanted the box and the 20A receptacle anyway but I am curious as to why the wires just pulled out of the connector, the remaining ones seem tight and the wires will not come out however I am able to spin the top of the connectors

Thanks
 
Attached Images    
  #11  
Old 05-21-19, 06:34 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,943
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
Yes that should have been crimped.
 
  #12  
Old 05-21-19, 03:48 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,553
Received 92 Votes on 80 Posts
Looks like someone forgot to crimp or crimped incorrectly at the factory.

So long as they were under the crimp, QC test would have shown good since they are still connected.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: