Grounding rod question

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-09-19, 09:33 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 53
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Grounding rod question

Hi,
I'm selling my house and the buyers' home inspector is saying the grounding rod on the exterior of my house is not connected (looks like it was cut at some point). Not a tracer wire.

Is the rod necessary and if so what should the green wire be connected to?

Name:  gr1.jpg
Views: 27
Size:  118.7 KB

Name:  gr2.jpg
Views: 32
Size:  106.4 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 08-27-19 at 04:25 PM. Reason: resized pictures
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-09-19, 09:42 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 53
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Also I spoke to my gas company and they say no ground wire should be connected to the meter.
 
  #3  
Old 07-09-19, 09:52 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,663
Received 87 Votes on 77 Posts
Is the rod necessary and if so what should the green wire be connected to?
I am sure you do not have a ufer ground so yes, you need a ground rod with a minimum of 8 feet earth contact for the Grounding Electrode Conductor to attach to. The minimum size approved ground rod is 1/2" X 8 feet.
 
  #4  
Old 07-09-19, 10:35 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,567
Received 251 Votes on 221 Posts
That may not even be the ground rod for your electrical service. It may have been placed there by the cable guy. You need to check your main electrical panel and follow the ground wire from there.

If that is for your service then it needs to go into the ground another 4 feet.
 
  #5  
Old 07-09-19, 10:45 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 53
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks guys. It is totally possible the cable or FIOS guy put that there a while ago and then snipped it when I switched from one to the other.

I'll investigate the panel to see where the ground goes. I do know that the water main that comes into my house from the street (about 10 ft from the panel) has a ground wire attached to it. But I can't see where it comes from since my basement is finished.

If that is what is happening, is it acceptable to ground the panel to the water main?
 
  #6  
Old 07-09-19, 01:40 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,151
Received 87 Votes on 74 Posts
The ground to the water line, if in contact with the soil for at least ten feet and metallic, is the primary ground. A ground rod would be supplemental.

If that rod was placed by a cable tech it was no where near correct.
 
  #7  
Old 07-09-19, 01:44 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 7,567
Received 251 Votes on 221 Posts
If you have a ground bond to the metal water line then I would just pull that rod and call it good. Water line connection is all you need.
 
  #8  
Old 07-10-19, 05:24 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,943
Received 43 Votes on 41 Posts
FIOS guy
They probably snipped off the old phone ground when they unhooked the copper service and replaced it with the fiber which does not require grounding. Most phone companies that install fiber to the home physically remove the copper wiring making it a permanent switch to fiber.
 
  #9  
Old 07-14-19, 07:57 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,663
Received 87 Votes on 77 Posts
If you have a ground bond to the metal water line then I would just pull that rod and call it good. Water line connection is all you need.

That might be in Canada, but the NEC requires a ground rod in addition to the water line ground.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: