Central Vac Has No Suction From Outlet - Hose Is Fine

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-10-19, 10:41 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Central Vac Has No Suction From Outlet - Hose Is Fine

Have a Nutone central vac that was installed in 2015 because my other vacuum failed. Today I cleaned without a problem in one portion of the house but when I went to another outlet, there was no suction - tried going back to the one I had used - no suction. I attached it to a wet-vac and it worked fine. It picked up items and they went through to the wet vac unit.
I checked the circuit breaker and it was fine. It has a new disposal bag
I called the company I bought it from and he said to bring in the hose but I am convinced it is not the hose as when I open the outlet, there was no suction.
So - any suggestions? Go easy - I am 84!
 
  #2  
Old 09-10-19, 11:24 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,281
Received 109 Votes on 101 Posts
When you plugged the hose into the vacuum outlet that was not working, was the vacuum body running

The relay to start the vacuum body, operated by the switch in the cover over the wall vacuum outlet, might not have been triggered due to a loose connection.
 
CasualJoe voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 09-10-19, 06:27 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,218
Received 103 Votes on 89 Posts
Did you check for a blockage in the pipes in the wall?
 
  #4  
Old 09-11-19, 10:32 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,952
Received 87 Votes on 82 Posts
Hi, as mentioned about the main vac running, but the hose in an outlet and go to the main vac and be sure itís running.
Geo
 
  #5  
Old 09-11-19, 11:20 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,281
Received 109 Votes on 101 Posts
Be sure that all of the other vacuum wall outlet covers are closed.
 
  #6  
Old 09-11-19, 05:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,761
Received 1,321 Votes on 1,221 Posts
Is the vacuum even running ?
With most systems..... it will not run with just opening the door. It needs the hose end inserted.
 
CasualJoe voted this post useful.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: