How to wire a new outlet


  #1  
Old 11-10-19, 09:31 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 49
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
How to wire a new outlet

Hi. I need to add an outlet to power my tv above fireplace. The outlet I want to get power from has 1 wire coming in and one wire coming out. Question : what connections do I need to make this work. As always THANKS in advance Paul
 

Last edited by paulst; 11-10-19 at 09:34 AM. Reason: Trying to add a pic
  #2  
Old 11-10-19, 09:56 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 10,966
Received 726 Upvotes on 642 Posts
Providing you enough room in the box (which I kind of doubt), you'll need to pig tail the wires to the existing outlet then using wire nuts extend the cable to the new box. Send a picture of existing box with wires still connected.
 
  #3  
Old 11-10-19, 10:44 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,044
Received 517 Upvotes on 422 Posts
Since the receptacle only has two screws you will need to connect the three wires together with a pig tail to connect to the receptacle.
pigtail to receptacle instead switch as labeled in pic.

Name:  pigtail.jpg
Views: 196
Size:  10.2 KB
 
  #4  
Old 11-11-19, 06:49 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,402
Received 63 Upvotes on 55 Posts
Diagram should show 4 wires (including pigtail).

Adding a third wire and a pigtail to 2 existing wires.
 
  #5  
Old 11-12-19, 02:22 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,015
Received 167 Upvotes on 138 Posts
And before you do anything with an existing receptacle box in the way of tapping into it be sure you do what Norm201 mentioned which is something many DIYers over look before starting. Make sure the box you are tapping into will have enough room for the additional romex/conductors and you don't end up overloading the box. Just because you can "jam" all of the existing and new wires and receptacle in the box does not mean you have no exceeded the code in "box fill" limitations which may cause a hazard in the future.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: