Torquing screwdriver?


  #1  
Old 12-14-19, 05:49 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,832
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Torquing screwdriver?

I did some minor work on some circuits and tightened the lugs as much as I could. An electrician came in for another item and rechecked then and tightened some more?
how tight is too tight - it seemed like he might have even squashed the conductor?

So, on that note what is a good torquing screwdriver to get?
 

Top Answer

 
12-15-19, 07:07 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Norm201
Norm201 is offline
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 11,583
Received 649 Upvotes on 574 Posts
Here's a case of common sense. They need to firm enough that it takes an effort to loosen the screws on a receptacle. But no so tight that you deform the wire or break the casing of the plug.
 
  #2  
Old 12-15-19, 07:07 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 11,583
Received 649 Upvotes on 574 Posts
Here's a case of common sense. They need to firm enough that it takes an effort to loosen the screws on a receptacle. But no so tight that you deform the wire or break the casing of the plug.
 
cwbuff, marksr voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 12-16-19, 07:44 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,926
Received 60 Upvotes on 52 Posts
CasualJoe voted this post useful.
  #4  
Old 12-14-19, 06:54 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,792
Received 71 Upvotes on 66 Posts
I use this one:

1/4 in. Drive Dual-Direction Click Torque Wrench (10-150 in.-lb.)TEKTON TRQ21101

for the large terms i use a 50-ft lb 3/8” drive
 
  #5  
Old 12-14-19, 07:09 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,832
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
If you do it without how tight is tight?
I'm presuming you shouldn't flatten the conductor ?
 
  #6  
Old 12-14-19, 08:13 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,792
Received 71 Upvotes on 66 Posts
Tighter than u might guess. Specs come with the panels.
 
  #7  
Old 12-14-19, 09:07 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,415
Received 163 Upvotes on 142 Posts
The conductor should not be flattened. That is way too tight.
 
  #8  
Old 12-15-19, 06:59 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,792
Received 71 Upvotes on 66 Posts
I think the 2020 code has some aggressive language regarding the mandatory use of calibrated torque devices. Our kitchen was the subject of a remodel. lots of poorly fastened receptacles. When you can simply move the wired receptacle and see the side screws rotate, its too loose.
 
  #9  
Old 12-15-19, 07:21 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,792
Received 71 Upvotes on 66 Posts
The items i reference above i find more suitable for a panel, not really great for a switch or recept u have in the hand. For the small, loose devices, i would select a rotary preset handle with interchangeable bits. The square drive bit is pretty good for keeping the bit engaged so it wont find itself into your palm. You will find the 20-30 in-lb range popular for #10 screws.

https://www.amazon.com/Olsa-Tools-Sc...42393108&psc=1
 
  #10  
Old 12-23-19, 10:16 AM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,832
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
The panel I have, the screws only accept a square bit.
Whereas most torque wrenches come with the square 1/4 receiver not the hex.
Are there bits I can buy with a square receiver and #8 on the front?
 
  #11  
Old 12-23-19, 11:16 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 878
Upvotes: 0
Received 79 Upvotes on 69 Posts
would not a standard 1/4 inch 6 point socket in whatever drive you need work they do make them as a bit driver socket but the only real difference is the magnet to hold the bit.
 
  #12  
Old 12-23-19, 01:08 PM
Q
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,832
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Dunno. The lugs in the panel look round to me. Square d panel.
Cant fit a hex socket on that.
Edit: do you mean an adapter?
 
  #13  
Old 12-23-19, 02:10 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,792
Received 71 Upvotes on 66 Posts
You need a 1/4” square to 1/4” hex adapter. Mine says Autocraft on the side.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: