New meter box size?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-11-20, 09:50 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New meter box size?

Hey all,
I'm installing a meter box on an existing steel building. It will feed a 100A breaker box in the shop at first. Later on it will feed an additional 200A breaker box for a trailer on a second loop from the meter box. What size meter box do I need to use?
Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 01-12-20, 09:38 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,792
Received 100 Votes on 90 Posts
I'm installing a meter box on an existing steel building. It will feed a 100A breaker box in the shop at first. Later on it will feed an additional 200A breaker box for a trailer on a second loop from the meter box. What size meter box do I need to use?
I would use a 200 amp meter socket and then feed a 200 amp panel with feed-thru lugs in the shop. The 200 amp panel in the trailer can then be fed from the feed-thru lugs in the shop panel.
 
  #3  
Old 01-12-20, 02:18 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 13,946
Received 298 Votes on 258 Posts
Your local power company will have a list of approved meter sockets, but in most cases, residential meter sockets need to be a minimum of 200 amp with a bypass lever.
 
  #4  
Old 01-14-20, 03:46 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If I use a 200A meter box and use feed thru lugs on a 100A breaker box, does the main breaker affect the power thru the lugs to the 200A breaker box? Also, if the 100A and 200A breaker boxes are fed from a 200A meter box, is that per code?
 
  #5  
Old 01-14-20, 06:39 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,792
Received 100 Votes on 90 Posts
If I use a 200A meter box and use feed thru lugs on a 100A breaker box, does the main breaker affect the power thru the lugs to the 200A breaker box?
Yes, the 100 amp breaker ahead of the feed-thru lugs would limit power to the 200 amp panel to 100 amps. That's why I suggested a 200 amp panel with feed-thru lugs so you can get a full 200 amp feed from the feed-thru lugs.

Also, if the 100A and 200A breaker boxes are fed from a 200A meter box, is that per code?
I made a basic assumption that neither panel would ever be fully loaded. As long as calculated load never exceeds 200 amps you are fine. If you are expecting some heavy loads, possibly with electric heat, on each panel a 320 amp (or 400 amp) meter socket might be in order. Like Tolyn said, your power company will have a list of approved equipment for use on their system.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: