Circuit Breaker


  #1  
Old 01-16-20, 07:30 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Circuit Breaker

Years ago I had a dedicated line put in for a 240 tanning bed. The electrical company installed a 20 amp breaker. I was having wiring issues with the bed and my repair guy told me to replace the breaker with a 30 amp. He was not an electrician but very knowlegable about beds and repairing them. Is it a good idea to replace the 20 amp with a 30? Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 01-16-20, 08:00 AM
J
Member
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: welland ontario
Posts: 8,052
Received 518 Upvotes on 423 Posts
Not a good idea unless the cables are #10.That is not likely since 20 amp circuits only require #12.
 
  #3  
Old 01-16-20, 08:15 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Ct.,USA
Posts: 3,303
Received 309 Upvotes on 274 Posts
What are the wiring issues? Did you provide the electrician the make and model of tanning bed you were installing?
 
  #4  
Old 01-16-20, 09:26 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,881
Received 188 Upvotes on 168 Posts
Is it a good idea to replace the 20 amp with a 30? Thanks

No, it's a really BAD idea. There should be a data plate somewhere on the tanning bed, find it and give us all the information on it.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: