Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

What are these electrical connections ?!? I know somebody knows!

What are these electrical connections ?!? I know somebody knows!


  #1  
Old 09-29-22, 02:23 PM
X
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What are these electrical connections ?!? I know somebody knows!



The 2 black tape'd up square objects that connect the supply lines with these smaller lines.. what are they? (the boxes)I know these are my strip leads, I just wasn't sure if these were some type of fused link for regulating the amperage from whats supplied. notice the step down in gauge.

Thanks for the clarity!
 
  #2  
Old 09-29-22, 03:11 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,348
Received 1,629 Likes on 1,462 Posts
Probably just splices but you could disconnect the power, unwrap the tape and actually see what they are.
 
The following 2 users liked this post by Pilot Dane:
  #3  
Old 09-29-22, 03:59 PM
X
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Square splices? Never seen that before. If I was on site I would already know but Im not, so I was hoping for a quick answer from someone who knows. Maybe they will be by here in a minute. The breaker is 100amp so I'm thinking they didn’t just “splice” it. Ive just never seen anything inline you could step safely down with.
 
  #4  
Old 09-29-22, 05:43 PM
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 1,083
Received 71 Likes on 67 Posts
Square splices?
They could be a Polaris Splice or a Split-bolt type of splice
 
  #5  
Old 09-29-22, 05:51 PM
X
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wow. You learn something new every day, it could be that last one. I just cant believe its on a 100amp breaker, isnt that dangerous?

i was really hoping it was some type of fused connection id never seen.

Guess im just going to have to go check it out personally.

thanks again!
 
  #6  
Old 09-29-22, 06:20 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 15,030
Received 629 Likes on 538 Posts
Wire looks pretty small for 100 amps. If it is 100 amps the wire should be #3 or #4 copper or #2 or #1 aluminum.
 
  #7  
Old 09-29-22, 06:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,027
Received 3,187 Likes on 2,862 Posts
Those are bugs. They need to be split bugs if there is aluminum and copper wiring involved.
Copper and aluminum wiring cannot touch.

Technically..... electric furnace manufacturers require copper supply wiring only so that
needs to be looked into carefully as your supply cable is aluminum.

As mentioned... it definitely looks smaller than 100A wire.
 
The following users liked this post:
  #8  
Old 09-29-22, 07:41 PM
X
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 25
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Im only going on what the hvac technician says. He wants to swap out those splices and install a 30amp disconnect to protect the equipment from the excessive amperage the breaker would allow in a short. He is the one who told me it was a 100amp breaker And the equipment is in jeopardy until something is done about it. Even though like i said its a factory install as shabby as it is and hasnt had a problem in the 30 years its been built.

if that is in fact just a splice, i tend to agree with him.
 
  #9  
Old 09-29-22, 07:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,027
Received 3,187 Likes on 2,862 Posts
At the equipment end.... in the picture needs to be a service disconnect.
It could be a 30A disconnect to protect the equipment but that does not protect that cable from there to the panel.

You should look on the gray service cable and tell us what it says on it.
The breaker in the main panel must be sized to protect that supply cable.

If that is an electric furnace.... 30A is kind of small.
30A would indicate approx 6000 watts of electric heat.


 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: