Pond pump


  #1  
Old 09-18-23, 07:50 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,660
Received 7 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Pond pump

I am installing a above ground pump (120V 10.8A) for my fish pond.

The pond can be ordered with a 15' cord or without a cord & plug. The no cord version requires hard wiring it. I am trying to decide which way to go.

I have a GFCI receptacle with a bubble cover right there, it is a dedicated circuit. I also have an analog Intermatic timer there to control the pump's on/off times.

CORDED: If I order the pump with a cord, then I will run the wire to the timer first, and have the timer control the GFCI receptacle, plug the pump in. If I want to turn the pump on or off manually I will use the timer's on/off switches. The down side I can see if that receptacle will be tied to the timer and if I want to plug in a corded power tool I will have to turn on the timer. Of course, I can set it up to run a constant hot to one of the duplex receptacles and have the timer control only one receptacle.

CORDLESS: The pump will come without the cord, I will run the wire to the GFCI receptacle first, then from the load side of the GFCI connect to the timer. From the timer I will run a 1/2" NMLF with #12 THWN to the pump. The pump will be hard wired to the timer. I can use the GFCI receptacle for other things if necessary. The downside to this is when I need to move the pump out of the way for service or maintenance it is not as convenient as unplugging a cord.

Any comment on doing it one way vs the other, pros and cons?
 
  #2  
Old 09-19-23, 04:19 AM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,580
Received 204 Upvotes on 174 Posts
I can set it up to run a constant hot to one of the duplex receptacles
Not if you are using GFCI receptacle. It is better to have GFCI before the timer.

I think it is better with cord for easy of service. If there are options available both corded and non-corded, it probably is also easy to just remove the cord and hard wire if needed.
 
  #3  
Old 09-19-23, 11:12 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,660
Received 7 Upvotes on 6 Posts
That's kind of a catch 22. If I have GFCI before the timer, and I get the corded pump, I need to plug the pump into the GFCI, then I cannot control the pump with the timer, unless I wire it such that the timer controls the GFCI.

If I get the hardwire option no cord, then I hard wire the pump to the timer, and the timer will be placed on the load side of GFCI.

You are right I can't have a switched & unswitched by breaking a tab in the middle of a duplex receptacle if it's GFCI.
 
  #4  
Old 09-19-23, 04:45 PM
L
Member
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1,580
Received 204 Upvotes on 174 Posts
I need to plug the pump into the GFCI, then I cannot control the pump with the timer
You just have to add additional receptacles after the timer. This does not need to be GFCI since power feeding to the timer is already GFCI protected.

If you get hardwire option, you will need to run water tight conduit or outdoor rated cable to it. You could just get corded option and cut plug off to hardwire to the timer. as well.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: