Connecting AC to mobile home for A/C


  #1  
Old 10-09-23, 10:03 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 17
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Connecting AC to mobile home for A/C

Old mobile home and looking at installing a mini-split 220v ac unit. The current central unit is fried and all the duct work under the trailer is trashed.
The trailer has 2 main wires connecting to electric supply. One goes inside to the braker panel and the other to the a/c. It connects directly into the a/c with no breaker panel / disconnect box.
I'm certain this is not up to todays codes for this 30 plus year old trailer.
I'm no electrician by any means and will hire one. However just for my info, can they install a disconnect box to the side of the trailer, connect 220 wiring to it then pigtail to the mini-split?
The breaker box inside the mobile home doesn't have any room to add anything. In the attached pictures you can see the cable that runs directly to the a/c lying on the ground.
Thanks



 

Last edited by PJmax; 10-09-23 at 05:51 PM. Reason: resized/enhanced pics
  #2  
Old 10-09-23, 03:54 PM
J
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,463
Received 129 Upvotes on 114 Posts
I'm not seeing anything that would meet code.
Contact a real electrician for this one.
 
CircuitBreaker voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 10-09-23, 05:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,484
Received 4,055 Upvotes on 3,638 Posts
That's a mobile home ?
Do you mean RV ?

Typically mobile homes aren't wired with temporary rubber cords.
What's holding that panel up ?
 
  #4  
Old 10-10-23, 09:00 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 17
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Mobile Home, it's a 220 electrical cable not rubber cords. Held up by metal pipe driven into ground , it's covered in mud from recent flood so looks funky.
 
  #5  
Old 10-10-23, 10:01 AM
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 1,060
Received 81 Upvotes on 76 Posts
, it's a 220 electrical cable not rubber
No actually it is 240 and yes it maybe electrical cord but what is the cord made out of? rubber so it is a rubber cord probably a dryer type receptacle (Either a 3 or 4 prong 10-30R or 14-30R)
 
  #6  
Old 10-10-23, 10:12 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 17
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
I have no idea what material the cord is made of....220v or 240v is it that big a deal? Look at the picture and you can see the receptable in the middle of the box. Been there since mobile home park has been built many many years ago.
 
  #7  
Old 10-10-23, 01:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,484
Received 4,055 Upvotes on 3,638 Posts
The rubber/thermoplastic cord laying in front of that old panel looks like a 120v plug.

You are asking if a rubber cord can be plugged in to that panel to supply a disconnect mounted to the side of the mobile home for a new A/C condenser. The answer would be no.

Attaching a rubber cord and plugging in the outside condenser would also not be to code.

Your electrician could install a disconnect to the side of the mobile home and then use a product like seal tite which is a plastic coated flexible conduit.
 
  #8  
Old 10-10-23, 04:17 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 17
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Got it...Thanks !!
 
  #9  
Old 10-17-23, 04:02 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 17
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Old mobile home-convert 4 wire to 3 wire 240volt

Mod note: Threads combined.

Old mobile home central unit shot. The 240 volt electric supply runs from an outlet on side of trailer directly to the old ac central unit and not thru a breaker panel inside the trailer.

I need to run new wiring from outlet panel on side of trailer to window unit.

The outlet is 4 wire as you can see in picture 1, Can this 4 wire be run inside the house and then convert plug end of wire to 3 wire to allow for a 220v window unit outlet as seen in picture 3.

Picture #2 close up of 4 wire outlet
Picture #3 typical plug for A/C
 

Last edited by PJmax; 10-17-23 at 04:55 PM.
  #10  
Old 10-17-23, 05:33 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Ct.,USA
Posts: 3,303
Received 309 Upvotes on 274 Posts
Can't see top of outside panel, but the first thing that needs to be done is weather proof that outside panel. It certainly can't be code compliant. Cable lying on ground is a potential shock hazard to anyone and needs to be covered.
 
  #11  
Old 10-17-23, 08:53 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 17
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Outside panel does have a cover just left opened for the pictures. I will take advice and cover/bury cables lying on the ground.
Panel probably not up to code but been there for 20 years that I know of.
 
  #12  
Old 10-17-23, 10:50 AM
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 1,060
Received 81 Upvotes on 76 Posts
Is it possible to use an adapter such as This I linked to this one because it actually has a circuit breaker vs. the cheaper ones which lack an OCPD

As well as a NEMA 6-20 Extension Cord
 
  #13  
Old 10-17-23, 04:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,484
Received 4,055 Upvotes on 3,638 Posts
You cannot run a cable like an extension cord from the panel to your mobile home.... inside or out.
Yes... we can see that's the way it was done originally
We can only advise to code compliant installations.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 10-18-23 at 05:04 PM. Reason: correction
  #14  
Old 10-18-23, 05:12 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 17
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
mobile home

You keep referring to it as a motor home, it's a MOBILE HOME that has been in the same location for 20 years that I know of. The power supply from the panel to the MOBILE HOME has been plugged in for those 20 years like you can see in the picture. It runs to the breaker box inside the MOBILE HOME. The cord lying on the ground is for the added central unit and has also been plugged in for 20+ years. It's unplugged now that's why it's lying on the ground as the unit went out.
I got it, it's a trailer trash issue so just forget it, and I will end this thread and any future ones......For some reason somebody even changed the name of the thread.

 
  #15  
Old 10-18-23, 10:04 AM
Kooter's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 861
Received 88 Upvotes on 81 Posts
You keep referring to it as a motor home, it's a MOBILE HOME..
I got it, it's a trailer trash issue so just forget it, and I will end this thread and any future ones......For some reason somebody even changed the name of the thread.
jr70895 - I don't see that you ever referred to your 'old mobile home' as a motor home. The thread subject title change appears to be a mistake made when a mod decided it best to merge/combine two threads.

​​​​​​​We are all very willing to help if we can to ensure members have a successful DIY forum experience.
 
  #16  
Old 10-18-23, 05:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,484
Received 4,055 Upvotes on 3,638 Posts
My apologies. Title corrected.
We try to keep the same topic in one thread to eliminate the duplication of the same questions.

When I see rubber cords I immediately think of a motor home.
My replies in regards to code compliance still stand.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: