Damp environment?


  #1  
Old 04-03-24, 03:48 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,506
Received 351 Upvotes on 294 Posts
Damp environment?

I am extending a 15 A circuit in my basement by adding 2 additional receptacles. I'm tapping off a 15 A lighting fixture. The wiring will be exposed atop a 2X4 runner. My intentions were to use a length of 12/2 armored cable that I had lying around from another project. Then I read that armored cable is not suitable for a damp environment.

What is a damp environment? My basement stays fairly dry, typically around 50% RH or less. I have never seen it higher than 55%.

Part of my problem is that we have a new inspector. The old guy, recently retired, knew what was important and what wasn't. I heard that the new guy is a nitpicker. Is there somewhere that defines damp environment as it applies to armored cable?
 
  #2  
Old 04-03-24, 05:36 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: United States, Virginia
Posts: 1,719
Received 278 Upvotes on 235 Posts
I would not consider your basement as a damp location per the nec.
 
cwbuff voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 04-04-24, 05:24 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,312
Received 2,309 Upvotes on 2,054 Posts
Don't forget to GFCI protect the outlets.
 
  #4  
Old 04-04-24, 06:05 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,506
Received 351 Upvotes on 294 Posts
The plan is a GFI to protect me.
 
CircuitBreaker voted this post useful.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: