How do I install this window A/C?

Old 06-16-16, 08:14 AM
D
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
How do I install this window A/C?

Glad to find this site. Hoping somebody can tell me how to place the a/c I purchased onto my window sill. It looks unsafe to place because the bottom of the a/c has a rectangular protrusion that goes from one side to the other and it doesn't fit into the groove of the sill. I don't get it. Had a few people over and they just set it on the sill but it doesn't feel right. I've never done this before so maybe I'm worried for nothing...? Attaching photos of the top and bottom of the a/c and the sill.

I purchased an "a/c safety net" (strong cloth "cage" it goes in so it doesn't fall out) but if you have any advice on what to purchase to hold the window down to keep the a/c from falling, I'd appreciate it. Temps are going to be hot tomorrow, 100 degrees on Sunday, hot next week.

Thanks

Attached Images     
Old 06-16-16, 12:34 PM
Received 14 Upvotes on 10 Posts
That air conditioner should include a pair of slide out "accordion" side panels that assemble to the sides of the unit. They usually have parts that slide into that channel on the bottom. You then screw the panels to the window frame. Did they include instructions?
Andy

Old 06-16-16, 01:02 PM
J
Received 128 Upvotes on 113 Posts
Old 06-16-16, 02:03 PM
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
The real problem is that is a vinyl window and the weight might permanently distort it.

I'd build a square "U" shaped bridge to go over the bottom of the window and rest on the window sill on each side of the window. A 1x4 perhaps whose length was equal to the width of the window wit a 1x1 supporting the inside and a second piece of wood on the out side to support it level.

Name:  x.jpg
Views: 601
Size:  7.8 KB

Old 06-16-16, 03:26 PM
Received 41 Upvotes on 39 Posts
Originally Posted by Ray2047
The real problem is that is a vinyl window and the weight might permanently distort it.