Question about a dust collector

Old 09-29-17, 05:25 PM
G
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question about a dust collector

Hi everyone,

I'm preparing to be able to work on my basement during the winter. No problem with the workspace, I have a well insulated and heated double garage to work in. My concern is the amount of cutting that I'm going to have to do in a confined space. I've been searching locally for a used dust collector and came across what appears to be a pretty solid commercial unit. I was hoping for some feedback on the unit if possible but also, are there any recommended cleaning and maintenance routines that you can suggest before I have look at it. I have never owned one before in fact, I'm embarrassed to admit I'm not even sure how to empty the bags!

Here is a picture of the unit, it is a Master Machinery 3HP 220V.

Thanks!

Attached Images   
Old 09-29-17, 05:40 PM
Super Moderator
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
I have to say, I'm no Pro, but that's a heck of a machine and probably way overkill for your needs. Looks more like something you'd see in an active cabinet shop. Likely extremely noisy as well.

A serious woodworker friend had a nice setup, single bag with some sort of fine dust filter, remote control, quieter than a shopvac and his work area was spotless. It was hooked to his cabinet saw, planer, joiner, miter saw and drum sander (all his stationary tools were Jet and Powermatic) and the dust collector got it all even on 20 and 30 ft runs.

Old 09-29-17, 05:46 PM
Received 421 Votes on 392 Posts
That looks like an excellent collector.

I have a buddy that does a lot of wood work in his basement and even though he has gone to extreme effort to seal off the room he still says that dust throughout the house is evident when he's working.

He's going to get the dust collector, his is a cabinet style, moved outside which should help.

Old 09-29-17, 05:54 PM
G