Vista 15P Home Security Self Monitored

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-25-16, 06:25 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Vista 15P Home Security Self Monitored

With help from other posts on this forum I was able to reprogram the number my alarm dials, a Vista 15P, to call my cell phone when an alarm event occurs. All I get is dead air, which is good enough for me as I either call the police or immediately go to the house. I

t's worked out well so far, except over the last 2-3 months the alarm called me twice. When I get home either the siren never sounded or stopped, the panel flashes FC until I clear the primary dial number and program it back in. It's not showing that any zone triggered it rather just an FC.

Does anyone know of any reason it would have done this after a few weeks, is it expecting to get signals from the central station and after a couple weeks of not getting them setting my alarm off? After clearing the fault code the last two times by reprogramming the primary dial number, it seems OK for a few week.

Thanks for any advice on this.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-25-16, 10:13 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 603
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
check that the monthly timer test is not activated -- that will initiate a dial out without having an alarm. also check to see if it is set to call in for troubles or low batts [I think those can be programmed out].
 
  #3  
Old 02-26-16, 03:49 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,746
Received 103 Votes on 95 Posts
Also, you have programmed you phone number into the regular (*41) location. Since you phone can't generate the 'kiss off" tone that tells the dialer that the call is complete, that will generate the FC (failure to communicate) trouble.

To do what you want you need to delete the phone number from where you have it, and program it into the "pager" programming locations (*160, *161, *162)

Manual: http://www.nationwidesecuritycorp.co...all-Manual.pdf
 

Last edited by MrRonFL; 03-06-16 at 08:02 AM.
  #4  
Old 03-05-16, 09:26 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi guys thanks for the replies, sorry for the late reply back. Ron the pager function does not seem to work, even though I've set it up it does not call my cell, the only way I was able to get to work was in the #41 spot. I'm still looking for the monthly self test option in the manual and report back on if that's the issue or not once I get it programmed out or changed (if set).
 
  #5  
Old 03-06-16, 08:08 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,746
Received 103 Votes on 95 Posts
What keystrokes did you try to use setting up the pager dial out?
Did you make sure that all of your zones have a report code programmed?

The automatic test function is programming location *64
 
  #6  
Old 03-07-16, 05:36 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I programmed in a pager to number in to *161, however the alarm would never call my cell phone when triggered, so I ended up clearing it out and putting my cell number in *41 which seems to work except for this sporadic FC issue prior mentioned.

When I do installer code + #64 it reports back 0 1 which looks like once per week, but the false alarm and FC seem to happen more like every 3 weeks, granted I've not been able to nail down the time frame as I've just started monitoring this on my own recently.
 
  #7  
Old 03-07-16, 05:53 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,746
Received 103 Votes on 95 Posts
What did you program in *162? That's the location that determines under what conditions that the "pager" number activated for.
 
  #8  
Old 03-07-16, 06:20 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I not setup anything under *162 only *161, but I can see in the manual link you posted that *162 would be necessary to know what to page. Can I still setup *161 and *162 but clear *41* or does the alarm have to have a value in 41? I only ask because setting the pager option up at this point does not give me confidence that the sporadic alarms/comm fault code will stop. Obviously, I'm not familiar enough with this to know.
 
  #9  
Old 03-07-16, 09:33 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,746
Received 103 Votes on 95 Posts
The pager dialout is independent of the central station programming.

Once there is no longer a number in *41 or *42, the failure to communicate will go away.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: