Motion sensor with wireless remote relay

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-05-16, 07:11 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ohio usa
Posts: 151
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Motion sensor with wireless remote relay

I've searched and searched but can't find what I'm looking for. The requirement is rather simple, I would like a motion sensor that sends a wireless signal to a remote NO relay. Then I can use the relay contacts to activate whatever type alarm I desire. All the motion detectors, such as driveway monitors I've found all have built in buzzers, bells, etc. All I want is relay contact points.

Short of modifying a system similar to the driveway monitors can anyone point me to a system I've described. Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-05-16, 08:17 AM
Norm201's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 9,004
Received 230 Votes on 205 Posts
  #3  
Old 03-05-16, 01:11 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: US
Posts: 459
Received 14 Votes on 13 Posts
I seriously doubt there is a "system" to do what you want. But that shouldn't stop you from trying to build one.

Consider this:
  1. Relay output of a motion detector trips the input of wireless transmitter.
  2. Output of wireless receiver trips your final device (or if your final device draws more than the receiver output can handle, the receiver trips a TTL-input relay that trips your final device).
For stand-alone wireless, Inovonics, Linear and Visonic come to mind. Just google brandname wireless .

But since you have to get power to the motion and transmitter, why not eliminate the wireless? The motion will probably use a reed relay, so you'll still need a TTL relay.
 
  #4  
Old 03-05-16, 02:14 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,690
Received 92 Votes on 85 Posts
There are several models that give you the option of simply turning the chime function off. For example: RCTD-20U | OPTEX
 
  #5  
Old 03-05-16, 02:16 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 1,033
Received 35 Votes on 34 Posts
Do you have line power (AC outlets) where you want to put the motion sensor?

If you do, then it's pretty simple to use a standard hardwired motion sensor hooked through a garage-door type xmtr and receiver to activate a relay.

If not, then kindly tell us the whole scenario so we can help you. If you're not in the USA, mention that too, so we won't recommend stuff that plugs into 120VAC.
 
  #6  
Old 03-06-16, 06:28 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ohio usa
Posts: 151
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Norm - I was hoping for a wireless solution. While I could possibly run wires, it would be time consuming and more difficult than I hoped. I was also looking for an off the shelf solution versus building something. Mostly a time issue.

TOldMan - Something like a driveway alert as I mentioned was what I was looking for. A battery powered motion sensor transmitting to a receive which contains a relay. I have flexibility on locating the receiver so I can use AC power there and it doesn't need to be battery powered.

MrRon - turning off the sound is fine but only if there were relay contacts to attach another type of sound producing device.

COne - As I mentioned above I would prefer the motion sensor to be battery operated and communicate wirelessly. I do have 120vac at the receiver end and yes I am in the US.

More specifically I do not have easy access to AC power at the location for the motion sensor. I'm considering two locations, one outside the entry door to my shop, or just inside. Again that's why I was looking for something similar to the driveway alarms, that are battery operated and transmit a wireless signal to a receiver.

For the bell/alarm/buzzer on the receiver side I have a vintage door bell ringer that I would like to use. I'm not sure of the exact voltage but it works fine with a 9V wall wart type power supply. So the desire is to find or modify a receiver that contains an N.O. set of contact relays. I could then drive the doorbell ringer voltage via the relay. Actually pretty simple, but everything I find has a built in alarm. Thanks
 
  #7  
Old 03-06-16, 06:36 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: ohio usa
Posts: 151
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
MrRon - I took another look at the link you posted and the Optex does have a set of Form C relay contacts so it looks like this would work. Other than a $100 price tag it looks like a possible solution
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: