FA110C not working Need some help


  #1  
Old 03-29-16, 06:20 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Maricopa
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
FA110C not working Need some help

All that comes up on keypad is ( no ac ) I have a new battery and transformer. Someone disconnected the 4 phone line and tip wires 17, 18, 19 and 20. Could this have caused my problem. What are the tip wires 17 and 19 for
 
  #2  
Old 03-30-16, 02:23 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,012
Received 138 Votes on 127 Posts
Terminals 17 - 20 are for the telephone connection. 19-20 are for the incoming phone line; and 17 -18 return the phone lines to the house phone extensions. The most that disconnecting those will do is to cause a failure to communicate trouble to display (FC).

No AC shows when there's not 16VAC at terminals 1 - 2.

It's a slightly modified Vista 10se
Manual: http://www.alarmhow.net/manuals/Firs...n%20Manual.pdf
 
  #3  
Old 03-30-16, 11:16 AM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Maricopa
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just tested 1 and 2 only 5.5v and the Honeywell transformer is brand-new it's a 16.5vac 40va my paperwork says it should be a 16.5vac 25va would that make much of a difference still looks like I need to buy the right one. I will let you know if a new one works. Thank you for your help
 

Last edited by ItsJustBob; 03-30-16 at 11:37 AM.
  #4  
Old 03-30-16, 12:02 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,012
Received 138 Votes on 127 Posts
If the transformer is new, test the output without the system attached. You may have a wiring problem (like a wire to wire short) on the wiring between the transformer and the system.

Given the age of the system, it's not impossible that the system has an internal fault, and all you can do is replace the system board.
 
  #5  
Old 03-30-16, 12:40 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Maricopa
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I tested it without the wires connected it put out 0v from the terminals on the transformer and 5.5 at 1 and 2 with it connected without the battery I don't understand that
 
  #6  
Old 03-30-16, 01:08 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Maricopa
Posts: 24
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well I was an idiot I was checking for DC voltage not AC it has 16.5v at terminals 1 and 2. I hooked it all back up the same way it was and now it works. I must have a phantom lol. Now it's beeping low batt hope the new battery will take a charge.
Thank you for the help
 
  #7  
Old 03-31-16, 02:22 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 17,012
Received 138 Votes on 127 Posts
It could easily be the battery that's causing the issue. Sometimes they fail in an internal short, and that could cause the alarm control to shut down, because the battery charger is drawing too much current.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: