Using 3 Wires for powered sensor

Old 04-04-16, 04:25 PM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Using 3 Wires for powered sensor

Hello All,
Is there a problem to jump the common terminal of a zone (Z- or COM) with the Aux Power Negative terminal (- or GND)?

As I see it, this would essentially allow 12V of power (powering the sensor) to return to the panel to the Zone Common instead of the AUX 12V GND. Is this bad for the panel (I'm not an electrical engineer)? If this is OK, should the GND(-) and COM(Z-) terminals be jumped at the panel to provide a return path for the 12V back to the transformer?

I saw this done on a certain website, as can be seen from the pictures below:
Name:  dg85-connection.gif
Views: 5452
Size:  8.1 KBName:  yh-300-connection.gif
Views: 3894
Size:  12.7 KBName:  yh-300-connection-2.gif
Views: 2140
Size:  25.4 KB

I see this as having 2 applications. The first being if 1 wire in a 4 wire powered sensor install is cut and cannot be repaired, then it would seem that you can run power and alarm sense over 3 wires instead of 4.

The second application would be to run 2 separate powered sensors off of one 4 wire (18/4) cable.
Red - Would power both sensors
Black - Would be connected to both sensors' COM(Z-) terminals as well as both sensors' GND(-) terminals.
Green - Would connect to NC on one sensor
Yellow - Would connect to NC on the second sensor.

If this is possible, I believe it would allow for the use of a combo PIR/Glassbreak sensor like the BV-500GB (Bravo® 5 360° Ceiling-Mount PIR Motion Detectors - BV-500GB, BV-501GB, BV-502GB Security Products | DSC) (manual here: http://www.alarmhow.net/manuals/DSC/...20Detector.pdf) with only 4 wires and not 5 or 6.

Like this pic that I just drew up on the BV-500GB Manual:Name:  2 powered sensors on 4 wires.jpg
Views: 7983
Size:  20.6 KB

Please let me know if I'm way off here.

Thanks a ton!
Jacob

Old 04-04-16, 04:34 PM
Group Moderator
Received 3,947 Upvotes on 3,540 Posts