Zone Fault troubleshooting

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-21-17, 11:35 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Zone Fault troubleshooting

MrRon,
How to I troubleshoot, work through a zone fault? Changed the battery and still showing a fault. Thanks you
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-21-17, 11:46 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,139
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
A battery fault is different from a zone fault. Most zone faults will say "check Z?" or "fault Z?".

What is shown on the keypad ?
 
  #3  
Old 01-22-17, 03:05 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Maryland, USA
Posts: 1,033
Received 35 Votes on 34 Posts
Also, please ALWAYS tell us the make and model of your control panel. Different panels and keypads have slightly different displays for zone faults.

When mentioning a problem of the zone, MENTION the ZONE NUMBER, and what's on that zone. A fire/smoke sensor zone, for instance, is treated differently than a window or door zone.
It makes a difference whether the zone is hardwired or wireless. With most panel models, any zone number above 8 can be either. Working with hardwired zones is different than with wireless sensor/transmitters.

Alarm systems are, by their nature, all custom-made. It speeds the troubleshooting process when you tell us what you're working with.
 
  #4  
Old 01-23-17, 06:13 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fault zone 13

nx8v2/148E-RF
Garage door
Wireless contact
Display reads Fault Zone 13
Thanks for helping me.
 
  #5  
Old 01-24-17, 06:24 AM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,312
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Check/replace the battery in the wireless contact.
 
  #6  
Old 01-24-17, 07:59 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Changed battery with Zone 14 to make sure good battery, Zone 14 working, Zone 13 still saying fault- reads 13 Fault left shop roll up.
 
  #7  
Old 01-24-17, 06:59 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 16,693
Received 92 Votes on 85 Posts
If you have replaced the battery with a known good battery, and you are certain that the battery cover is properly in place, then the only thing remaining is a failed transmitter.

It's an electronic device, and it sounds like it may be in a harsh environment (by electronics standards a garage is rough).
 
  #8  
Old 02-04-17, 07:20 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 37
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Turned out to be bad heavy duty magnet contact

Replaced the garage door magnet and all is good. Turned out to be a bad magnetic contact. We flooded back in August of last year and I assume corrosion set in to wiring of magnetic contact. Thanks for all your help always!

Potter Amseco ODC-59A Overhead Door Switch
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: