Newbie Alarm Wiring Question - Honeywell Vista 21ip


  #1  
Old 11-28-17, 09:17 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 47
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Newbie Alarm Wiring Question - Honeywell Vista 21ip

Hey Folks,

I am setting up a Vista 21ip for the first time and after reading some posts about using 2k OHM resistors, I wanted to share my wiring pics and see if I am on the right path. From what I understand I have the option to use the zones as NC or EOL. Does this look right to you?

In addition, I am running two 4219 zone expanders except one is an older model (5 vs 8 dip switches). How do I set the zone expander's address when using two of them and of different vintage?


Thanks!
 
Attached Images   
  #2  
Old 11-29-17, 03:14 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,588
Received 314 Upvotes on 289 Posts
4219 installer manual: https://sep.yimg.com/ty/cdn/yhst-517...tion-guide.PDF

Normally, the 7 & 8 dip switches set whether the card allows NC or EOL and the board tamper switch

The one with only 5 dips may only allow EOL connections. It may have been a modified version made for a reseller.
 
  #3  
Old 02-23-18, 01:55 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 47
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I have been advised to wiring the resistors on the 4219 on the positive (+) terminal instead of the common (-). Why? Due to the jelly bean connectors not crimping down across three leads (2 neg wires + resistor) accurately and potentially creating a problem?
 
  #4  
Old 02-23-18, 03:04 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,440
Received 4,050 Upvotes on 3,633 Posts
The resistor can go on the Z terminal or the COM terminal. However..... the COM is a shared connection. So for example.... Z1 and COM requires a resistor and Z2 and COM also require a resistor for a total of two resistors. Each zone must have it's own resistor.
 
  #5  
Old 02-23-18, 03:43 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 47
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
If I understand your example correctly. Even if I wire up the resistor on COM, it will require two resistors (not 1 like I have currently done so on the 4219).?
 
Attached Images  
  #6  
Old 02-23-18, 03:46 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,440
Received 4,050 Upvotes on 3,633 Posts
That is correct..........................
 
  #7  
Old 02-23-18, 03:50 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 47
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks. That was a big help to me!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: