Upgrading an 1980 wired alarm system

Old 02-04-19, 05:49 PM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Upgrading an 1980 wired alarm system

This community looks really awesome to help me out. I searched some posts but still super confused, so hope to get a recommendation of what to research next. I'm a software developer and DIYer so feel confident and tinkering.

My current set-up: I have a really old Moose MPI-775 connected to 3 wired door sensors (magnets in door and jamb) and 1 wired motion detector and very loud siren in the roof

My desired set-up:
1) Modern keypad. Touch preferred ("modern preferable)
2) Ability to have phone app for remote connectivity and monitoring. If the key pad is simple, the app has to be more powerful. Internet connectivity has to be wifi as I dont want to run CAT5 cables or anything
3) Ability to connect to existing wired sensors plus install new wireless ones
4) Option to add monitoring system if needed (I really dont want to pay the montly fees but may change my mind later)
5) Option to connect it to my Alexa device

My understanding is I need to change the board and keypad, but not sure what I need to buy.

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Old 02-04-19, 07:52 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 93 Votes on 86 Posts
Items 1, 3, & 4 are things that nearly all of the standard brands like DSC, Honeywell, Networx, Concord, etc. will fulfill. It's a matter of choosing the correct hardware, as these systems are basically modular.

Wifi connections are problematic. There are third party solutions that will get you phone app connection, but they generally rely on a ethernet connection,

I have strong reservations about any connectivity that would tie an intrusion alarm to a smart speaker system. At this point you are essentially playing beta tester...

Old 02-05-19, 12:02 PM
P
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts