Motion sensor not activating alarm


  #1  
Old 04-13-19, 02:46 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Motion sensor not activating alarm

I have a late 90's Summit 5208gld home alarm. I was messing with the keypad and accidentally erased all the custom programming. I reprogrammed everything and it seems to be working, except: the motion sensor lights when I enter, but it does not chime or activate the alarm. I believe the settings are correct, but not sure. Any ideas on how to program or troubleshoot? Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 04-13-19, 03:35 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,553
Received 303 Upvotes on 278 Posts
I think Summit was a local or regional installing company brand name. Are you able to post a photo of the keypad and alarm control?
 
  #3  
Old 04-16-19, 07:46 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you for your quick response. I am looking for ways to troubleshoot a motion sensor that blinks when activity is detected, yet does not activate the chime or alarm.
Thanks!
Here are the images of the system:
https://imgur.com/7SEdlvA
https://imgur.com/Tak20A2
https://imgur.com/HIi3vJZ
 
  #4  
Old 04-16-19, 07:33 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,553
Received 303 Upvotes on 278 Posts
This was a system made by Ademco (or later acquired by them), to be installed in structured wiring boxes.

Installer manual: http://library.ademconet.com/MWT/fs2/6/3783.PDF

This is tricky, clearly, you must have found your way into programming and probably reset the system to a default, which means that the input zone(s) for the motions aren't properly set anymore (a motion is really just a fancy relay).

I've had to reset my access to the Honeywell/Ademco library, so I won't know until tomorrow if they still have the documentation for this hybrid.
 
  #5  
Old 04-17-19, 06:15 AM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I have the installation manual and have reprogrammed all of the zones. The motion sensor is getting power and appears to be working, but the control panel does not seem to get any activating messages from it. Looking for troubleshooting ideas.
 
  #6  
Old 04-17-19, 05:24 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Gainesville, FL, USA
Posts: 15,553
Received 303 Upvotes on 278 Posts
Simple test: Take the zone wire off of the terminal at either the panel or the motion. If the zone shows open then there may be an issue with the motion. If it doesn't, it means you may have selected the wrong zone type.
 
  #7  
Old 04-18-19, 01:02 PM
H
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2013
Location: usa
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks MrRon, I will try it!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: