Great Stuff Expanding Foam

Old 12-17-16, 07:09 AM
P
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
* Updated* Great Stuff Expanding Foam

I have a couple of aeas to use this product inside my home under a wall cabinet where some cold air is getting in. The gap(s) are approx 2 inch, which Great Stuff foam would be best for this size. Reason I am asking is I have never used it before but understand that is expands quite a bit. The cans have different gap sizes for use on the can but was curious if it is better to get one that shows a smaller size than the gap I am using it for.

Image uploaded, this is taken with my cell phone from the floor looking up to the area I am referring to. The size is approx 1 inch wide and 2 inches long, my guest is it runs all the way up to the top of the door on the shelf unit.

Attached Images  

Last edited by Paul O'Toole; 12-17-16 at 09:39 AM.
Old 12-17-16, 07:22 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 835 Upvotes on 732 Posts
You might want to go with the low expanding foam, it still expands a good bit but not as bad as the regular foam. You need to use a lot of care applying it as the stuff is extra sticky and next to impossible to clean up if it gets on something you don't want it to.

Is it feasible to stuff fiberglass insulation in the hole and then cover it with some wood trim?
Posting a pic or two might garner better suggestions - http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...-pictures.html

Old 12-17-16, 08:08 AM
T
Received 109 Upvotes on 97 Posts
A picture makes a lot of sense. Great Stuff is fairly easy to use in an open area outside the living space. I suspect that under wall units may present some problems and be more difficult than it's worth. It would be best if you could get under or behind the problem and deal with it from there.