Installing a Thermostat on a 110v Water Cooler

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-16-18, 05:59 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Mexico
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Installing a Thermostat on a 110v Water Cooler

Hi, i'm new on the site and I have a problem, i just bought a Wifi Thermostat (Honeywell TH9320WF500 Wi-Fi) and in my house I have this old controller (Low Vent - High Vent - Low Cool - High Cool - Pump) so i was researching this thermostat and i found out that it works with 24v, and my water cooler is 110v, so, how can I make it work? thank you
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-16-18, 08:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,819
Received 1,197 Votes on 1,107 Posts
Welcome to the forums Leo.

A little more info is needed. It is not a direct installation. As you've noticed the thermostat runs on 24vac while your cooler use 120vac switching. For every function you want to switch you will need a relay. This could get a little messy.

Would you really need a wifi stat on an evap cooler ?

If you are set on the install you'd need to find and post a wiring diagram of your cooler.
A make and model may help.
Pictures are also a big help..... How-to-insert-pictures
 
  #3  
Old 05-17-18, 11:14 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Mexico
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, i will take some pictures but is a basic Pump, 2 speed motor and that's it , i just bought the 120-24 transformer, ill check on those relays.
 
  #4  
Old 05-17-18, 11:22 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Mexico
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring

This is the wiring diagram that i found, sorry for the angle hehe, it's so hot in here
 
Attached Images   

Last edited by PJmax; 05-17-18 at 06:01 PM. Reason: added 2nd enlarged/labeled picture
  #5  
Old 05-17-18, 06:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,819
Received 1,197 Votes on 1,107 Posts
Looks like one switch for the pump and a two speed switch for the fan.
Is that correct ?

Basically you need a 24vac transformer and a 24vac relay to control the unit. You could use this before those switches to turn power on to both at the same time.

You're going to be dealing with 120vac wiring which means the relay will need to be enclosed in an electrical box. You could also use a fan center which is everything in one package.

This is a fan center. The transformer and the relay come as a package attached to a 4" square box. You just supply a 4" square electrical box.

Honeywell-R8285A1048-Fan-Control-Center
 
  #6  
Old 05-17-18, 06:27 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Mexico
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, I bought a 120 - 24v Transformer, then a 2 pole contactor and an octa relay, what else could I need? or can you help me out with a wiring diagram?, thanks.
 
  #7  
Old 05-17-18, 07:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,819
Received 1,197 Votes on 1,107 Posts
Are you switching the power to both switches ?
That would mean that both switches stay set where you wanted them and your relay supplies power to the entire unit.

I need to know what contactor and octa relay you have. Both may not be needed.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: