How should i approach prepping and painting my house?

Old 04-01-18, 08:42 AM
B
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
How should i approach prepping and painting my house?

I've never painted a house before although I've had a lot of experience interior painting and am good at lines, etc. Anyways, I have a tiny 1971 built ranch that's 1 floor and it has those striated cedar shingles and a couple layers of paint that is in many places loose, but hasn't fallen off.

The painting doesn't overwhelm me, but the thought of the prep work does a little. I realize it's not going to come out 100% great because whoever previously painted and scraped, etc left many uneven layers where paint could not be taken off for whatever reason. That's ok, I still think it will come out ok and from the street it's not a big deal.

So, I'm wondering how I should approach the prep. Should I just scrape, peel, etc, the loose stuff and not get all crazy and try and get everything off? That would drive me crazy this summer I'm sure .... and I've been known to be a perfectionist!

In the worse case, say I just paint over everything and do absolutely NO prep. What would happen? Would the new paint hold down some of the loose paint? Like I said, most of the loose stuff has held up and there are VERY few bare areas, besides what I physically attempted to peel by hand and it did peel right off an leave bare striated cedar.

I don't want to pressure wash or anything either. Do they have thicker paints that will help hold down and meld everything together?

I am going to prep, but my idea is to JUST get the loose, easy to peel, scape stuff off and then prime the bare wood. I don't want to have to spend all summer scraping and peeling paint. My house is so small that I literally could paint the front in maybe a day, just to give you an idea. It's 900 sf.

Oh and I just bought a lead testing kit at HD since this house is built in 1971. Hopefully there's no lead cause that'll scare me off!

Thanks!