Kick boards installed in pieces

Old 01-14-16, 10:21 PM
C
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Kick boards installed in pieces

Had a new fence installed between my house and my neighbor. The guy who did it put in metal posts with 3 rails running across and vertical boards between them. The kick boards he put in alternate on each side, and 3 of them were installed in pieces, with blocks of wood on my side where the boards come together.

I talked to him about it and his argument was that since the yard dips in the middle, the kick boards in those spots required boards of a width and length that he couldn't get. Also, something about the kick boards needing to go from the far side of one post to the far side of the next post on that side of the fence.

That didn't make a lot of sense to me, but he played the "I've been doing this for 10 years" card and I know nothing about fences, plus I had had some other issues with him that pissed me off, so I gave up. I looked at the fence again and there are some complete kick boards on the other side that seem to be the same width and length as the ones that he pieced together, so I'm starting to think he was full of it.

Also, looking at the fence, I see complete kick boards that go from the outside of one post to the outside of another, so, um, what? They're metal posts with wings on one side, and the wings are on my side, so I don't understand how the kick boards have to be longer on the other side.

He had also noted that since those pieced-together kick boards were on the other side, they seemed to benefit me somehow, but I have those blocks of wood where the pieces come together on my side while the neighbor has boards that come together on their side. Seems they could simply fill in those seams and paint the boards, and they would probably look like complete boards.