Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Exterior Improvement Center > Fences, Posts, Railings and Gates
Reload this Page >

Advice for preparing and building a privacy fence against a short brick wall.

Advice for preparing and building a privacy fence against a short brick wall.

Old 05-14-16, 06:26 AM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Advice for preparing and building a privacy fence against a short brick wall.

First off I'll start by saying I'm a beginner but a quick learner in most things I do so although I might not get something I can easily research and understand any terminology you use that I might not understand so don't feel the need to 'baby-talk' me too much!

I am also having problems adding images for some reason so I have uploaded them to Imgur and placed the links instead if this helps.

Right, I'm building a privacy fence against a short brick wall in my concrete yard and need some advice on how to prepare the wood I have bought which are feather edge boards. The Wall

Firstly how should I prepare the wood? I will be painting it with Cuprinol Ducksback but have read on the tin that any raw wood should ideally be treated beforehand. Is this necessary and what are the consequences of not doing so?

Secondly should I give the wood a light sanding to remove the patchy green stains that I assume are mould? I say sanding because the wood is rather rough and I would like to give it a smoother finish so was wondering if this would kill two birds with one stone.
The Wood

Thirdly as I will be building this against a wall should I be painting the wall facing side before construction as I obviously won't be able to paint it once it's up?

Finally what advice would you give me for building a gate in this location?
The Gate

Thankyou in advance for any help!

Old 05-14-16, 08:12 AM
C
Received 169 Upvotes on 137 Posts
I can start with a few points and some questions: