Looking for a snow fence

Old 12-05-16, 02:50 PM
A
Received 163 Upvotes on 136 Posts
Looking for a snow fence

Ok, new to this snow fence thing.

I work as a handy man for a multi-unit landlord. Remembering from the past living in a snow belt area (north-east Penn) that "snow fences" help prevent snow from blowing back into areas where it is not wanted that I need a "snow fence".

I would like to get a snow fence that will help prevent snow from "wind blown" pile up near the apartment building's propane tanks and parking lot (which are basically in the same proximity to each other). Every time the parking lot is cleared with a snow blower and wind blows the snow back over the parking spots because this part of the parking lot is a wide open area. Also next to the building are the propane tanks for the individual units and it gets quite difficult for the delivery person of propane to get in there because of the high snow.

I figured out a line from in front of the propane tanks down along the side of the parking lot to put the fence in a semi-circle for what I think will help the snow from piling up. What I don't know is what I am looking for in the way of a type of fence and the posts needed for the fence. I think I want a flexible fence (such as straps) so that the snow will build up on the fence material but yet not weigh it down and collapse the fence on top of itself. Hence using straps that are flexible.

I need about 50 feet of fencing that again is in the shape of a semi-circle. What should I look for in a fencing material and I guess the supports are important also so that it can hold the weight of the snow against the fence.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks!!!!

Old 12-05-16, 02:56 PM
Group Moderator
Received 1,910 Upvotes on 1,716 Posts
6' steel t-posts placed every 8' - 10' and a 50' roll of wood picket snow fence ($63 at home depot) and some baling wire. I don't know that you need anything more than that, unless you don't own a steel post driver.