How to hide the new concrete stair repair patch?

Old 07-16-17, 06:59 PM
Q
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to hide the new concrete stair repair patch?

Hello all,

This is my first project regarding the usage of concrete. I did some research and use the best products that are available to me.

Here are the product that I have used for this project:

SikaLatex 1 Gal. Concrete Bonding Adhesive and Acrylic Fortifier
Quikrete 40 lb. Vinyl Concrete Patcher

Please see the attached images for details.

Question 1> I really don't understand why people use concrete patch instead of real concrete to fix the crack in the stairs. I have watched many youtube videos for stair repairs and all of them suggest to use concrete patch. The patch has different color than that of concrete. So why not use concrete for this project? Maybe it is too late to ask this question, but I just want to know the reason.

Question 2> How to make the repair work looks professional? I saw some people do concrete resurface after a patch job. So I can use concrete paint or epoxy floor paint etc. Which is the better way for my case? I have searched homedepot.com and all concrete resurface products have very low rating. So I really don't know where to start next?

Thank you

Before:
Name:  IMG_20170715_081805.jpg
Views: 910
Size:  47.0 KB

After
Name:  IMG_20170716_191725.jpg
Views: 870
Size:  43.9 KB

Sponsored Links
Old 07-17-17, 02:40 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 321 Votes on 285 Posts
How long ago did you make the repair? I'm not familiar with the vinyl patch but cement products generally lighten as they cure. I'd use a concrete stain instead of paint.

Old 07-17-17, 04:13 AM
V
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I once owned a concrete house . . . . a hunting camp that was constructed entirely of concrete block and painted with a Concrete Paint, a paint which was 40% Portland Cement (if my memory serves me right).