Increasing thickness of interior wall

Old 01-21-18, 09:54 AM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Increasing thickness of interior wall

Hi there, this is my first time posting, please be kind! I'm sure I have found myself in the same position as many of you, starting a project and finding WTH to be the most common words out of my mouth.

We are in the middle of a basic refinish of our living room/dining room. The 3 of the walls (all are either exterior or used to be exterior prior to additions) are framed with 2x4s. The interior wall, is also with 2x4s except they have been turned so the wall stud is only 1.5" thick. While the walls are open we would like to move a door back to its original place (as visible now that the walls are opened up) to improve the flow and space efficiency of the room. Moving this door requires either a custom door jamb ($$$) or fixing the framing.

My question is what do we do in order to increase the overall thickness of the walls? Is it acceptable to essentially mirror what they have done? Stack/sister another 2x4 and a strip of 1/2" plywood on top of what is there to bring the thickness to 3 1/2 (so a pre hung door can be installed). This involves adding to the header and bottom plate as well. I don't know if this is detrimental to the structural integrity of the wall.

Any suggestions are beyond appreciated. I'd really like to move the door (and have the semblance of proper walls)

Thanks again!

Megan

Last edited by Shadeladie; 01-21-18 at 10:14 AM.
Old 01-21-18, 10:03 AM
Group Moderator
Received 3,952 Upvotes on 3,545 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

A picture or two would be real helpful.... How-to-insert-pictures
It may be easiest to remove that wall and rebuild it correctly.

Old 01-21-18, 10:11 AM
M
Pics as requested. The problem with taking the whole wall down is that it will spur the drywalling of the bedroom on the other side of the wall. Something I just don't have the patience or finances for at the moment.