Absolute beginners advice on how to refinish mahogany sideboard

Old 04-03-24, 06:14 AM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Absolute beginners advice on how to refinish mahogany sideboard

Hi,

I got this secondhand mahogany sideboard and would like to refinish it. I'm not really sure where to start. Do I just sand it all down and then re-varnish it? I'm happy to go and do my research on how to tackle the process, but wondered if there is anything specific I need to be aware of before I start.

Old 04-03-24, 06:44 AM
W
Received 35 Upvotes on 29 Posts
If that sideboard is an antique I would either leave it alone or have it professionally restored.

If you decide to DIY it don't start sanding until you are positive that none of the wood is a veneer.

2john02458 voted this post useful.
Old 04-03-24, 07:02 AM
Received 398 Upvotes on 347 Posts
leave it alone or have it professionally restored
I absolutely agree and second that opinion. That looks like veneer which is very a very thin wood overlay and will be destroyed very quickly by and sanding.

The best DIY would be light cleaning with a damp cloth. If there are areas that need repair or refinishing (NOT recommended), leave it to the professionals. Otherwise accept any flaws as characteristics of a well used and cherished antique.

Adjusting doors or drawers that bind or rub and are pulling or chipping the veneer should be considered to prevent further damage.

Old 04-03-24, 07:26 AM
P
Group Moderator
Received 2,311 Upvotes on 2,056 Posts