Programing a Craftsman garage door opener with a Chamberlain remote

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-27-16, 10:14 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 22
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Programing a Craftsman garage door opener with a Chamberlain remote

I'd like to know if this is possible. I've tried pressing the learn button on the Craftsman door opener and holding down the button I want programmed on the Chamberlain remote but it did not work. The products involved are:

Craftsman 41A5021-3M-315
http://www.amazon.com/Sears-Craftsma.../dp/B0091V6NY6

and

Chamberlain WD832KEV Remote
Chamberlain Whisper Drive 1/2 HP Belt Drive Garage Door Opener with MyQ Technology-WD832KEV - The Home Depot
 
  #2  
Old 05-28-16, 06:50 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,295
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Welcome to the forums. Your remote may not be compatible with your opener. They may be on different frequencies or use different technologies.

Please advise what the color of your learn button is. Then we can check the opener specs and see if it matches your remote..
 
  #3  
Old 05-28-16, 08:47 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 22
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi goldstar and thank you for the response. The color of the learn button is purple on the opener is purple.
 
  #4  
Old 05-29-16, 06:51 PM
G
Member
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Hamilton County, Ohio
Posts: 4,295
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Your opener uses 315Mhz technology while the remote is set up for My Q Technology which allows interface with various wifi type operations. I Think that is the problem.
There are many aftermarket remotes that will interface with your Craftsman. Usually not too expensive.
 
  #5  
Old 06-02-16, 09:40 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 22
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
goldstar, thank you for the information
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: