1975-1979 sears garage door opener NEED NEW REMOTE

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-24-17, 02:01 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: michigan
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
1975-1979 sears garage door opener NEED NEW REMOTE

NEED HELP WITH NEW REMOTE. I'm going to try to make this not confusing. My transmitter number on my actual remote is 139.652030. The garage door opener does not have a learn button and the wall unit is a big white box with one button. It has an antenna coming out of it. Are used to have a GM car that had the garage door opener links that you could program and all you had to do was hold down a button on that and then hold down the button on the remote control. I recently bought a chamberlain three button remote which says it's compatible but I cannot get it to work on my garage. There is a button on the back of the garage door opener that says press to reset that's the only thing I seen I do not want to get rid of this garage door it works fine even though it's old. My question is should I try to buy a craftsman universal remote or should I buy a new wall unit will a new wall unit be compatible with my garage door opener because it only has two wires that goes down from the garage door into the panel on the wall in the garage.
 
  #2  
Old 09-24-17, 04:43 PM
pugsl's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 9,029
Received 75 Votes on 68 Posts
Here is the door opener at Sears parts. I don't see the remote but you could ask them. They have a chat line that opens after you go to site
https://www.searspartsdirect.com/mod...erm=139.652030
 
  #3  
Old 09-24-17, 10:10 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,725
Received 1,316 Votes on 1,216 Posts
The remotes are long gone and I don't think universal replacement ones will work. You have a Chamberlain built Sears opener. That remote you bought may work for many Chamberlain units but not yours.

If I remember correctly.... the remote needs to be on the same operating frequency as the receiver. You could spend a lot of money and time hunting for a replacement remote.

I have customers with older door openers and I just install a new receiver. Comes with one or two remotes. If you have three screw terminals on the back of your opener.... this one will work as it is. If your opener only has two screw terminals then a power supply will be required.

Multi-Code/multi-code-garage-door-receiver-single-kit
 
Attached Images  
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: