Garage door remote advice


  #1  
Old 08-16-18, 11:33 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 149
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Garage door remote advice

My new car doesn't have a garage door open option on it. My garage door opener is a nutone or scoville, pretty old, and it has a Sears remote transmitter and receiver setup, it's pretty old, too. I only have one remote and it doesn't work. I've messed with the dip switches a bunch and can't make it work with a new battery. I think the board must be cracked or something. So what kind of new set up will work with my old nutone. Many thanks !
 
  #2  
Old 08-16-18, 09:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,543
Received 1,599 Votes on 1,473 Posts
Does your opener have the three screw terminals on the lower back side where the receiver board is attached ?

If it has those three terminals you can go with a basic Linear kit. Not a high security coding system but similar to what you have now. It will attach directly to the back of the opener where the old one is.
Linear-Garage-Opener-Receiver-Remote/dp/B00283XWUW

If you want something a little more updated and secure.... it will come with a plug in wall transformer and connect to your unit with two wires. If you have a pushbutton on the wall.... this type could be attached there as long as there was a nearby receptacle.
 
  #3  
Old 08-17-18, 11:42 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 149
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
ok, it does have three terminals, and the current transmitter mounted on the opener is attached with two wires, and one terminal is not being used. My current system has a button by the door to my house and a Click brand keypad mounted outside. Those both work. My handheld remote doesn't, though. That product you linked me to will work, then? Thank you.
 
  #4  
Old 08-17-18, 05:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,543
Received 1,599 Votes on 1,473 Posts
Yes.... the product I linked comes with three little brass plates to connect the receiver to your opener.
 
  #5  
Old 08-28-18, 01:03 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 149
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
I got it and it works! Many thanks!
 
  #6  
Old 08-28-18, 01:54 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,543
Received 1,599 Votes on 1,473 Posts
Awesome...... thanks for stopping back and letting us know. It's appreciated.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: