Craftsman garage door opener not opening


  #1  
Old 07-30-23, 06:28 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW. Ohio
Posts: 120
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Craftsman garage door opener not opening

I have a 9 1/2 year old Craftsman 1/2hp garage door opener, model 139.53985DM. It opens a few inches,stops, the lights blink and then go off and nothing works for 10 seconds or so. Seems like an overload trips. Then the lights come back on and when I hit the button again it will close. I have adjusted the up force and it doesn't help.
It just started doing this within the past week. Any ideas?
 
  #2  
Old 07-30-23, 06:40 AM
Kooter's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 861
Received 88 Upvotes on 81 Posts
Have you checked the sensor alignment and cleaned the lens?
 
  #3  
Old 07-30-23, 06:49 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW. Ohio
Posts: 120
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I have checked the sensors, but the problem is with the door going up, the sensors don't stop it when it goes up. I tested this, I have 2 doors with the same opener. I blocked the sensors on the other door while down and it went up.
 
  #4  
Old 07-30-23, 07:28 AM
Kooter's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 861
Received 88 Upvotes on 81 Posts
Spring(s) okay - not broken? Main gear drive okay - not broken?
 
  #5  
Old 07-30-23, 07:36 AM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,182
Received 174 Upvotes on 142 Posts
Pull the release handle and make sure the door opens and closes smoothly by hand, and doesn't require excessive force. Cycle the opener with door disconnected and see if it operates properly with no load.
 
  #6  
Old 07-30-23, 01:49 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW. Ohio
Posts: 120
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Still does the same with the door released. It opens a few inches and stops, the lights blink at the same time it stops. I unplugged it and ran a extension cord to it and still the same thing. It might work for a few cycles, then stops.
 
  #7  
Old 07-30-23, 02:26 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NW. Ohio
Posts: 120
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I did find if I wiggle the part circled, something clicks and the lights blink. Looks like you have to buy the whole board, $125 new, or half that for used/refurbished.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: