Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Garden and Outdoor Center > Gardening and Horticulture
Reload this Page >

Fence post holes near old growth oak trees

Fence post holes near old growth oak trees

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-24-17, 07:40 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 221
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fence post holes near old growth oak trees

I need to put up a 115' chain link 6' fence that will come within about 4' to 6' of a row of beautiful old growth protected oak trees. An arborist tells me that if we damage major roots that it could affect the tree, potentially killing the tree. Is there some way to make holes that minimizes risk to the tree roots? I'm wondering if some type of aqua drilling method would work, sort of like you would use to drill a water well. I'm thinking if you bore down & hit a root that maybe you could just move over a bit and potentially get a hole slightly off of the original target. Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

TexasFire
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-25-17, 05:18 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 23,756
Received 632 Votes on 584 Posts
Many oaks are surprisingly sensitive to having their roots disturbed so I agree with the arborist. Whether or not a post hole and the roots it hits will be enough to seriously harm the tree I don't know. I have done excavations near large oaks and quite often within a couple years the tree is either dead or showing serious sign of trouble.

That said I don't think a post hole will do major harm to the tree. The bigger hassle for you will be drilling/digging the hole. I know even with a PTO driven auger big roots can be a problem. Extra weight on the auger and sharp teeth make a big difference.

You might be better off driving the fence post so there is no digging or boring a hole. The big question then becomes can you drive a post if you hit a big root? Maybe bring extra posts and if you hit a root you cut the pipe off flush with the ground and move over 6" or a foot and try again.
 
  #3  
Old 01-25-17, 11:51 AM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 6,561
Received 372 Votes on 347 Posts
Stand where the fence is going and look up, the root system that close is going to be as dense as the tree limbs. Chances are you will not be able to miss a root by making small movements.

Can you back off any?
 
  #4  
Old 01-27-17, 02:22 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 221
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am forced to use the new property line because of an easement taken by eminent domain. This is a bad situation that puts the trees at risk.....

TexasFire
 
  #5  
Old 01-27-17, 02:34 PM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,663
Received 321 Votes on 285 Posts
The fence doesn't have to be on the line ..... as long as it's on your property.
 
  #6  
Old 01-27-17, 08:10 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 221
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There's not much room left behind the trees as the back part of the crown covers the front of our house. I'd basically have a fence at my front door.
TexasFire
 
  #7  
Old 01-28-17, 04:14 AM
M
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 47,663
Received 321 Votes on 285 Posts
Didn't know that .... some folks get fixated on the line and forget the options available. Sounds like you have to choose between the fence and possible harm to the trees
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: