Propane pressure


  #1  
Old 06-02-23, 07:12 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 44
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Propane pressure

Hello everyone ,
i bought a house last year with a 480lb propane tank ,
I use it just for cooking few times a week, and i used just 11 gallon.
Yesterday the company that last owner used ,that also own the tank ,went over without any advise and filled , and they told me that they have a minimum charge of 50gallon
so i have a bill of 11 used gallon plus 39.

Because i dont have a contract with them , i asked to remove the tank.

Can i just install a small 5gallon tank? Pipe line is around 50/60ft long. Do it have enought pressure or i need to use a bigger tank?

Thanks a lot
 
  #2  
Old 06-02-23, 09:18 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,746
Received 4,117 Upvotes on 3,697 Posts
The biggest problem with propane is that under pressure it is a liquid in the tank. The liquid vaporizes at the top of the tank into a gas. As you use the propane the vaporization continues. If the tank is too small it won't vaporize fast enough to keep enough usable pressure in the line. Also.... the colder the ambient temperature..... the colder the tank... the slower the vaporization.

Five gallon is a basic 20lb BBQ tank. That's not going to cut it.
I would consider getting a 100lb tank.
 
  #3  
Old 06-03-23, 05:15 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,506
Received 351 Upvotes on 294 Posts
Consider buying a 100 gal tank and finding a different supplier. The tank will pay for itself in just a few years.
 
  #4  
Old 06-03-23, 06:23 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 44
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks a lot for your answer ,
100lb tank cost just $150 , with the supplier that i have now the 39 gallon they charge suppose to be $250 , so ill save money at beginning

Another thing the 100lb tank i guess are around 25 gallon , so ill use it in 2 year , is it safe to charge it 1 time every 2 year ? Or should fill half tank ? After how many years i should replace the tank?

Thanks a lot
 
  #5  
Old 06-03-23, 01:29 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,746
Received 4,117 Upvotes on 3,697 Posts
Refill whenever needed.
Remember.... too low and it won't operate properly in the cold.
The tank will have an expiration date stamped right on it.
It will typically be 12 years from date of manufacture.
 
  #6  
Old 06-04-23, 02:56 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 44
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I saw that they also have 40lbs and 60lbs , are they too small? Becuase they are around my annual usage , and also lighter to carry over the refill station
 
  #7  
Old 06-05-23, 12:54 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,746
Received 4,117 Upvotes on 3,697 Posts
It's very hard to explain and may be somewhat experimental.
A stove top burner is rated for 10k-20k btu per hour.
That means if you want to use the large burner for one hour on max you'd need 20k btu.
An oven requires 30-35k btu hour.

Look at the cylinder size and outside temperature.


The tank contains liquid propane. As the vapor pressure reduces (from using propane) the liquid boils off and becomes vapor. The boiling (vaporization) is based on how much heat is generated from the tank where the arrows are.
uch
 
  #8  
Old 06-06-23, 11:46 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 44
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
They took off the tank this morning , and i bought anything yet.
i had a full 20lb and i tryed it.
Works , i turned on all burner and works.
But from the chart that you attacked now there is 68f , if i understood right i will probably have problem during the winter.
is it right?
 
  #9  
Old 06-06-23, 01:04 PM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,170
Received 2,272 Upvotes on 2,024 Posts
Yes, you will probably have trouble during colder weather. Especially as the tank nears empty. You need more liquid propane on hand when it's cold so enough can vaporize to feed the appliance.
 
  #10  
Old 06-06-23, 02:29 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 44
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
So if now work fine , and im looking the chart now im around 25k btu , in winter around 10f ill be just 10k , but with a 40lbs tank ill be during winter around 17k , that isnt much lower than now.

Should it work?
Asking because move a 100lbs tank over the fill station will be hard for me .
and there is anything that i can maybe do to warm the tank in winter? Maybe a little storage with insulation ?

Thanks a lot for all your help.
 
  #11  
Old 06-07-23, 05:16 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 28,170
Received 2,272 Upvotes on 2,024 Posts
You can tie multiple smaller tanks together. If you install a shutoff valve at each tank you can remove an empty one while the others keep working.
 
  #12  
Old 06-07-23, 05:36 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,506
Received 351 Upvotes on 294 Posts
You shouldn't have to move the tank for a refill. Just call a propane delivery service in your area. Look for one that does not require a contract.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: