Basic Wiring Help


  #1  
Old 07-09-16, 03:52 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Basic Wiring Help

Im about to replace my old non-digital thermostat with a digital one from Honeywell.

Old Thermostat:
Name:  ^6A021BAFC19302F05A3A2391C3FFF9896F8ECFD08EE6FDD027^pimgpsh_fullsize_distr.jpg
Views: 212
Size:  24.3 KB

New Thermostat:
Name:  ^39A4979107A58B7989AE77DBAD5F893EEA72D8886783E3DDC4^pimgpsh_fullsize_distr.jpg
Views: 208
Size:  16.2 KB

On the old one, there is Rc and Rh, but the new one has Rc and R, I was wondering if R takes the place of Rh or do i need to wire it someplace else.
I have a Central heating and cooling system for the house.
 
  #2  
Old 07-09-16, 04:19 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,575
Received 52 Likes on 47 Posts
Yes, R and Rh are the same thing. It looks like you have a jumper between the R terminals on the existing stat. I would jumper the R terminals on the new stat as well unless the instructions state otherwise.

I see that the toggle is set for HP. Did you just bump that?
 
  #3  
Old 07-09-16, 04:50 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
No experience with wiring or thermostats

I have absolutely no experience with these things, I don't know what Jumper means, also I think that switch was preset to HP, not sure what it means.
 
  #4  
Old 07-09-16, 05:35 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,575
Received 52 Likes on 47 Posts
With the switch at HP I would expect the outdoor unit to be energized on demand for heating or cooling. Heat pumps would use this setting.

Since I do not see a wire at O or B it is unlikely that you have a heat pump.

It looks like the red wire connects to one of the R terminals and a small piece of wire is used to connect the R terminals to each other. This piece of wire used to bridge these terminals is a jumper wire.
 
  #5  
Old 07-09-16, 07:38 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I hooked everything up, its working perfectly, thank you for your insight.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: