Turning gas off to do fireplace work

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-16-17, 07:19 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 68
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Turning gas off to do fireplace work

I have a hot water boiler powered by propane for the heat and hot water in my home. It is a modern day HTP combi unit that is propane fired and heats the water for DHW and heat.

I need to turn the propane off at the tank to the entire house so I can do some fireplace work (I am replacing the propane fireplace).

There are no isolation valves in the entire house. The line just comes inside and goes to the stove, the boiler, and the fireplace.

My plan is this.
Turn the t-stat down to 50 so the heat does not try to come on.
Turn power off to boiler.
Do my fireplace work.
Turn gas back on.
Turn electric back on to boiler.


Is there anything else I need to do as far as the boiler is concerned since I am temporarily taking the gas away?? I am thinking I may need to follow the lighting instructions in the manual, but I didn't look at it yet.

Anything else you can think of??
 
  #2  
Old 01-16-17, 07:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,786
Received 1,326 Votes on 1,225 Posts
Anything else you can think of??
Yes. Why is there not a shut off valve by every appliance like code dictates ?
 
  #3  
Old 01-16-17, 07:29 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,006
Received 109 Votes on 103 Posts
This is not to code. Code dictates all fuel burning appliances have their own means of manual fuel interruption. If your turning the gas off you may as well prepare so you can repipe the appliances with proper gascocks.
Opening the gas line will likely require the lines to be bled.
 
  #4  
Old 01-16-17, 07:33 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 68
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yeah, I didn't originally pipe the house. I bought it this way.

Actually now that I think about it, the boiler and the stove may have isolation valves, but I don't think the fireplace does.
 
  #5  
Old 01-17-17, 04:10 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
The fireplace will have one in the firebox. If you are replacing the entire box, it may not help, however. If you are just replacing the log set up, then you should be OK.
 
  #6  
Old 01-17-17, 11:39 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,786
Received 1,326 Votes on 1,225 Posts
In NJ.... pretty sure by code.... the valve for the fireplace needs to be accessible outside the fireplace. I used a Dante valve which is installed in the floor.

Name:  dante.jpg
Views: 103
Size:  23.0 KB
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: