Stacking filters

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-18-17, 10:03 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,634
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Stacking filters

My system uses expensive 20X25X5 filters. Yesterday at the hardware store I noticed there are also 20X25X4 filters of the same type. Would it be a good idea to pair a 4" box filter with a cheap 1" ahead of it to catch most the dirt?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-18-17, 10:11 AM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 35 Votes on 27 Posts
Just use the four-inch by itself. You could also cut some one-inch wooden spacers if necessary to keep the outlet face of the filter tight against the furnace intake.
 
  #3  
Old 01-18-17, 07:27 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,634
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
The 4" is only a dollar cheaper--i was just wondering if anyone puts a "pre-filter" ahead of theirs to make it last longer.
 
  #4  
Old 01-18-17, 07:58 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,876
Received 103 Votes on 97 Posts
There's no need with a media like that. Best to just use the 5" for minimal pressure drop. The 5" has plenty of capacity to handle all the debris that flows through it.
 
  #5  
Old 01-19-17, 03:55 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Use what is called for. My obsolete electronic filter housed 5" electric plates. Once removed the 5" media fit right in. I did have prefilters stacked on the intake side in their own slide. They are a great boost to help keeping the media filters free of a bunch of larger stuff like dog hair. I change the media filter once every 6 months, but remove the metal pre filters almost every month and clean them.
 
  #6  
Old 01-19-17, 04:15 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: United States
Posts: 4,802
Received 73 Votes on 69 Posts
Shop around on line for better prices on the 5",stick with what the system was designed for.
Geo
 
  #7  
Old 01-19-17, 06:44 AM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 2,634
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Originally Posted by chandler
Use what is called for. My obsolete electronic filter housed 5" electric plates. Once removed the 5" media fit right in.
Larry you contradicted yourself. You changed from electronic to media.

(ETA) If you didn't already have the pre-filter left over from the electronic housing--don't you think it would be a good idea to add one?
 

Last edited by guy48065; 01-19-17 at 08:40 AM.
  #8  
Old 01-19-17, 01:54 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
I didn't contradict myself, although my wife accuses me of it often I was lucky to have that electronic casing in place when I decided to change over. By all means if there is a method that will allow you to add prefilters, even if it is somewhat ahead of the media, I say do it.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: