Damper made furnace to not run


  #1  
Old 03-16-17, 09:22 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 2,128
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Damper made furnace to not run

i'm getting 2nd hand info off the phone call but a family member had no heat today on a 1993 gas force air unit (i think lennox)

they called the guy out and they said a geat was stripped and i believe they said it was the burner vent or something like that. google leads me to believe it was a damper motor gear,i think?

from the bit i read, it doesnt affect operation of the unit at all. and the guy did say wont cost more to run etc, but if i'm reading it right, it does cause you to lose heat?
 
  #2  
Old 03-16-17, 10:30 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,173
Received 123 Votes on 117 Posts
What's the model of this unit?
 
  #3  
Old 03-16-17, 10:34 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,522
Received 1,595 Votes on 1,470 Posts
If it's a flue damper it can be locked in its open position.
It cannot be bypassed as it must be open before the burner can light.

It does save on energy costs as it holds the heat inside between firings.
 
  #4  
Old 03-16-17, 10:59 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 2,128
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
why would the guy say the part isnt made anymore? wouldnt he make a nice profit to fix this for them?

is the savings you speak of 'material'

i know thats a loaded question. but its about 1100 a year for the heat and gas hot water heater so of course they dont wanna spend 500 on it if its not gonna be significant savings. also this unit is in utility room that is closed off with a vented door. unsure if any of this matters

he's the coworker of the guy that installed my indirect HW system. and i told her to call them since they are trustworthy.

also strangely enough. the 2 year old gas hot water heater isnt working today. what are the odds of both things dying the same day? over the phone i tried to guide them through the electrical panel but the HW heater is not labeled so cannot even flip a switch.
 
  #5  
Old 03-16-17, 11:16 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,522
Received 1,595 Votes on 1,470 Posts
The gas water heater wouldn't usually have a breaker.... unless it's an induced draft type.
Even at that it wouldn't necessarily have its own breaker.

A powered flue vent would just be for the heat.... not the hot water heater.
Since they have a powered flue they most likely have an old furnace... or is this a boiler ?
 
  #6  
Old 03-16-17, 11:25 AM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 2,128
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
well the guy came out. 90 to press the reset button on the water heater..but is very hard even for him to get to it..its blocked by a washer.

he said the wind blew out the pilot light. sounds fishy to me. i truly dont know where it vents but i guess the roof?

regarding the 1993 hot air furnace, i'm assuming even if the part was available it would cost a lot or otherwise he would have wanted to make some money? they described the part as a watch type gear and he took it away with him to toss i assume.
 
  #7  
Old 03-16-17, 11:35 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,522
Received 1,595 Votes on 1,470 Posts
A standard water heater with pilot light needs to vent up..... usually thru the roof.
With the winds we've had in the last day or two it's possible that it got blown out. It's also possible the water heater may have a pilot issue.

The guy was there looking at the furnace and he charged an additional $90 to look at the water heater ?
 
  #8  
Old 03-16-17, 01:02 PM
L
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 2,128
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
no the guy that installed the water heater as part of the purchase of the house came out
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: