Troubleshooting a Trane XV95 gas furnace?

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-20-17, 05:29 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 953
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Troubleshooting a Trane XV95 gas furnace?

I just found out that my house was blowing cold air instead of warm air. I'm pretty sure the gas has not been turned off because the water is still hot and the water boiler uses gas. I only hear the motor fan. How do I go about troubleshooting this Trane XV95 furnace?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-20-17, 06:03 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There should be a site glass on the front of the furnace, check to see if your getting a flashing code.
 
  #3  
Old 03-20-17, 06:12 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 953
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't remember seeing any red light blinking, at least on the bottom of the furnace. I am not sure I know how to open the top part of the front panel.
 
  #4  
Old 03-20-17, 06:20 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Most likely the control board will be in the bottom compartment.
 
  #5  
Old 03-20-17, 11:04 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,659
Received 1,168 Votes on 1,083 Posts
There is a peep hole in the bottom/blower access door. You can look thru it to see the fault code. The doors should slide up for servicing.

Name:  TR_XC95m_Gas-Furnace-Large.png
Views: 2841
Size:  37.7 KB
 
  #6  
Old 03-20-17, 04:13 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 953
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Okay, I've found the blinking light. It blinks 6 times. So based on Trane's error codes, it says:

6 Flashes 115 volt AC power reversed, poor grounding or system voltage too low

So, what does this mean? Where should I start looking? Thank you so much for the help.
 
  #7  
Old 03-20-17, 04:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,659
Received 1,168 Votes on 1,083 Posts
6 Flashes — 115 volt AC power reversed, poor grounding or system voltage too low.

Actually a pretty strange code to get when everything WAS working normally.
Was any wiring changed that could affect the furnace ?


As a tech... I'd open the blower door, hold the door safety switch in and measure the voltage to the control board. Then I'd confirm that from L1 to the metal chassis I had 120vac and from L2 to the metal chassis... 0v.
 
  #8  
Old 03-20-17, 05:08 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 953
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, that is odd because it was working like two weeks ago. There hasn't been any work done or wire changed on the furnace. Since this house isn't currently being occupied, I don't know exactly when it stopped working but I believed it was working about two or three weeks ago.

Is there a graphic somewhere that you can show me where L1 and L2 is located on the control board?
 
  #9  
Old 03-20-17, 05:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,659
Received 1,168 Votes on 1,083 Posts
You would have to remove the top burner access cover and post the full model number listed on the ID tag on the side wall near the burner.

OR... remove the bottom blower door and post the control board model number.

Trane XV95 is only the trade name.
 
  #10  
Old 03-20-17, 06:25 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 953
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I see. I'll post back the model number tomorrow. Thanks again!
 
  #11  
Old 03-20-17, 07:38 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 953
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Okay, I went back to the house and took some pictures. I couldn't find the model number inside cover but here are some pictures. If you right click and open the image in it's own tab, you'll be able to zoom in for better details.



 
  #12  
Old 03-21-17, 08:35 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 953
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just hired a professional HAV over and he found out it was the ignitor that was broken. I can't believe that it cost $130 just for the ignitor alone.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: