Is this safe?


  #1  
Old 06-10-17, 11:13 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is this safe?

Had an hvac tech at my house yesterday 3rd trip from the same company who has been unable to diagnose the problem.Name:  20170610_100019.jpg
Views: 165
Size:  26.0 KB

I noticed this morning that this vent hadn't been reconnected. I have another company coming out Tuesday to look at the furnace since I don't trust the company the landlord keeps sending. Is this safe to leave until then?

Thanks in advance for your replies
 
  #2  
Old 06-10-17, 11:35 AM
M
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose,Ca
Posts: 1,573
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
No it is not safe if the furnace is producing carbon monoxide. A proper burning gas appliance produces water vapor and carbon dioxide. Don't use until inspected by a tech.
 
  #3  
Old 06-10-17, 12:44 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 61,837
Received 1,476 Votes on 1,364 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I only do light servicing but I have never seen any type of flex line on a furnace exhaust flue.
 
  #4  
Old 06-10-17, 12:54 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,092
Received 112 Votes on 106 Posts
No it isn't safe at all. Do not use the furnace
 
  #5  
Old 06-10-17, 03:30 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 3,226
Received 82 Votes on 77 Posts
That looks like a stainless liner to your flue pipe of the furnace. If that is what it is definitely do not run the furnace for heat until it is connected.

You can use the furnace for you AC though since there is no flame involved.
 
  #6  
Old 06-10-17, 08:07 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose,Ca
Posts: 1,573
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
My understanding is this is to used only as breeching (from furnace to tee) and may not pass thru any wall/ceiling.
 
  #7  
Old 06-10-17, 08:50 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks everyone for your replies. I guess I should have specified I'm just using the AC this time of year. I will make sure and have it checked though before using the furnace.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: