Remove A Coil For Better Air Flow?


  #1  
Old 01-14-18, 03:51 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Remove A Coil For Better Air Flow?

Just had a new Trane 2 stage furnace installed. After checking air flow and temperatures before and after the A coil, the differenceís are quite radical. Tech says itís because of the older ďfatĒ design of the coil and itís basically blocking the heat / air flow. AC is working fine and I donít want to purchase a new unit right now. Iím thinking of removing the A coil during the heating season and putting it back in the spring without cutting the lines. Is there a problem Iím not seeing by doing this?
 
  #2  
Old 01-14-18, 06:36 PM
A
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,709
Received 58 Votes on 51 Posts
The line set (refrigeration pipes) are not meant to be bent once installed. You are likely to break and cause a leak.

Sometimes what is needed is to clean the coil.
 
  #3  
Old 01-15-18, 04:23 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,200
Received 54 Votes on 50 Posts
If you gain access to the coil and remove a sidecover a flashlight can be directed to one side of the coil and what is between the coils can be seen from the other.
The other thing is that a competent tech should be able to measure the pressure drop of the coil and make adjustments to the airflow to match the coil you have.
"Older" coils should have no problem working properly with a new furnace!
 
  #4  
Old 01-15-18, 06:56 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks to both of you! Not really concerned about breaking or kinking the lines since i have an abundance of line slack and a lot of swinging room... Iím going to remove it and suspend it during the heating season. It just seems reasonable to think the furnace / heat will run more efficiently with the coil not blocking flow.
 
  #5  
Old 01-15-18, 12:56 PM
user 10's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NA
Posts: 2,109
Received 45 Votes on 39 Posts
Temperature measurements directly above the furnace are not accurate, the thermometer picks up radiant heat from heat exchanger.

Don't mess with it. No one removes a coil in the winter.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: